Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 10:06 AM   #1
BUBBAS IGNITION
Senior Member
 
BUBBAS IGNITION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SPEEDWAY INDIANA
Posts: 4,006
Default Ford load a matic tips etc:

Dont do a lot of these but have had five in the last 90 days.
Common problems are shorted wire under the vacuum plate.
Most have defective vacuum advance unit.
These only have vacuum advance with no mechanical advance. Vacuum supply
comes from two ports on carb . One venturi opening is at the carb venturi and the other is from a transfer port slightly above the throttle plate. As spec chart shows vacuum is very low signal ranging from 1/2 inch of vac up to 4-5 inchs of vacuum.
Springs are mounted on eccentric pins allowing the springs to be adjusted. Both of the ones i just did needed some increased tension and wouldnt return to zero when advanced.







__________________
If it Makes Spark, we do it !!!!
www.bubbasignition.com
jimlinder@juno.com
BUBBAS IGNITION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
oldskool
Senior Member
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: shirley ny
Posts: 910
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

funny a friend couldn't get his 50 ford started after a complete tuneup,i norrowed it down to the dist,i removed it and found a shorted wire under the plate,replaced it and it fired right up
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-22-2013, 05:00 PM   #3
Cecil/WV
Senior Member
 
Cecil/WV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 2,207
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Are these pictures of mine??
Cecil/WV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:13 AM   #4
BUBBAS IGNITION
Senior Member
 
BUBBAS IGNITION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SPEEDWAY INDIANA
Posts: 4,006
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil/WV View Post
Are these pictures of mine??
Yep , both of them are beautys !! The one had a broken , shorted lead with when vacuum was applied which probably caused your missfire...
The other unit was just rusted and crudded up, had to cut the shaft off it to save the housing. Looks good ...
__________________
If it Makes Spark, we do it !!!!
www.bubbasignition.com
jimlinder@juno.com
BUBBAS IGNITION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:48 AM   #5
Cecil/WV
Senior Member
 
Cecil/WV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 2,207
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

The one that was tight to turn was on an aluminum timing cover and I couldn't get it out, so I removed the cover and broke the cover off with a hammer and then used Kroil to free up the shaft til I got it turning freely. I installed it on my car and drove it a few hundred miles and it developed an occasional miss, like a momentary loose connection, and I took it off and could hardly turn it again. The better one is the original from my Ford with 80,000 miles on it. Thanks for going over them,.
Cecil/WV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 09:22 PM   #6
Cecil/WV
Senior Member
 
Cecil/WV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 2,207
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
i got my distributors in the mail today and they really look great! now, to see how the car runs, maybe Friday. Thanks, Jim,.
Cecil/WV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:50 AM   #7
ken ct
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: stratford,ct
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
funny a friend couldn't get his 50 ford started after a complete tuneup,i norrowed it down to the dist,i removed it and found a shorted wire under the plate,replaced it and it fired right up
Hey olescool,any bigger pics of your avatar 41 coupe. Love the 41 coupes looking good. ken ct.
ken ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 05:27 AM   #8
oldskool
Senior Member
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: shirley ny
Posts: 910
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken ct View Post
Hey olescool,any bigger pics of your avatar 41 coupe. Love the 41 coupes looking good. ken ct.

ken here you go,we just installed a 50 merc engine last week ,running a 2 bbl for now but have both a dual and a 4 bbl setups leaning towards the 4 bbl with carter wcfb, thanks al
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IM002063.jpg (92.9 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg IM002154.jpg (77.2 KB, 22 views)
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:22 PM   #9
Cecil/WV
Senior Member
 
Cecil/WV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 2,207
Default Re: Ford load a matic tips etc:

Well, I installed one of the distributors from Bubbas today and man, it really runs great!!
Cecil/WV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.