Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-05-2011, 08:51 PM   #1
guitar4u

Default 1929 found at garage sale

I have a bit of a weird situation. I went to a garage sale that had a cute couple in their 70's. I noticed a car under a cover in the back of the garage. A little bit of talking later, I found out that it is a 1929 ford Sport coupe that the gentleman bought 40 years ago to restore. He never finished it. But he bought tons of parts, all kept in boxes. He also completed all the frame and suspention restoration, all the brakes are new. The body has been sanded and primered, but no dents or dings and I can't see any bondo. All the original steel is there. It has NO rust. He has kept it in his garage for 40 years. Pretty hard to find in Minnasota.

I guess my question is this...I want a hot rod. I am a musician and tour in my motorhome and would love to have a rod in my trailer. But this one seems too nice to make a rod out of. I am sure there is tons of put together rods out there, but this is an all original model A with all the original parts. No rust. Should be an easy restore. But the idea of having a restored car that struggles to do 60 miles an hour doesn't appeal.

After talking for a while, he decided that he could do $3500 for the car and all the parts. He has 2 windshields, an extra set of headlights, all the body parts, etc. All it really needs is the paint and upostery. He said the motor runs, but has a cracked head. He has another one new in the box. Just need to install it.

How valuable would the car be if completed original? Would it be a crime to rod this one out? MY thinking is buy the car and trade it to somebody that has a rod project and want something original. I am sure there are people in the other catagory ( Is this thing too far from original to try and restore?)

Give me some ideas. I have bought the car and will be picking it up on Tuesday.