Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-21-2014, 07:44 PM   #1
BigRix

Default New Guy Seeking Advice

I'm new to the world of Model A's but not to automotive repair. After 30 years as an Automotive Mechanic I have recently changer careers and now I am traveling the country as a contract trainer. This gives me some time off and my good friend has talked me into doing some work on his '29 Model A.

I'd like to run some things by you guys as I have little experience with the Model A, but I am a quick study. I've already picked up a lot just from reading this forum for the last couple of weeks.

First thing is a complete cleaning of the fuel system to get the rust out. He is ok with me pulling the tank but not with re painting. I'm seriously considering using Evapo-Rust. I've used it on many other projects on it is just amazing. I've read many posts about this subject and short of cutting the tank apart, I don't see much consensus as to the best way to clean it out.

He has already purchased all new parts for the fuel system including lines and carb. I have not laid eyes on these new parts but having restored several Mustangs I can tell you the quality of many of those repop parts is abysmal and I often chose to rebuild the original parts instead. Is this something I will run into with Model A parts as well?

He also wants me to install a new radiator that uses a 4lb cap and some type of screen set up that I would splice into the radiator hose. I'm not too crazy about this set up and could really use some advice as to whether I should try and talk him out of it. I would prefer to rod out the original radiator and flush out the engine and let him run it in a stock configuration.

Finally, his ultimate goal is to drive this thing with his wife and grand kids a couple times a month and have it be reliable.