Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-14-2011, 10:25 PM   #1
shooter54

Default Basic headlight, tail light/brake light question (wiring)

This is probably going to seem like a dumb question to some of you guys, but I'm no wiring expert, and I want to make sure I don't burn this car down...

My newly purchased 31 coupe doesn't have any of the lights hooked up. There is no wiring going to the headlights or brake lights. The guy said he "never drove it at night"

I want to run the most basic wiring setup I possibly can. Basically, I just need the headlights to work, tail light to work, and brake light to light up when I hit the brakes. I want to install a small discretely placed toggle to turn the headlights/tail light on (steering wheel headlight switch isn't in the car)

Can you guys give me an idea of what kind of components I'll need, and a basic idea of how to wire it properly? The car is still 6v, and runs/charges normally.

I have somewhat of an idea of how to do it, but I want to make sure I'm not forgetting or missing anything.

Crudely drawn pictures are always a plus..
Old 03-14-2011, 10:47 PM   #2
MikeK

Default Re: Basic headlight, tail light/brake light question (wiring)

Forget the toggle switch patch. Fix it correctly! A complete new wiring harness from a vendor is about $45. Way easier than jury-rigging your own. Add a bit more if you are missing the switch shell and spider mechanism at the bottom of the steering column. Big spender? Get one with turn signals already wired in. Try Snyders, Brattons, Mac's, Mikes, your local A parts guy..
MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 05:45 AM   #3
Ed Saniewski