Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-13-2013, 09:51 PM   #1
31Tudor

Question Fine Point vs. Touring Class

Just wanted to get some thoughts here. I am working on a fine point restoration, I have been accumulating parts for a few years and I am begining to assemble things now. A friend of mine is also working on a restoration and we began our discussion on whether or not he would persue a fine point restoration or restore the car to meet touring class standards. I gave him my thoughts....any other thoughts and opinions of one level of restoration vs the otrher?
31Tudor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:05 PM   #2
Logan

Default Re: Fine Point vs. Touring Class

fine point cars tend to be cars that get pushed on and off the trailer, never seeing the open road until the owner decides to not have it judged anymore. But of course there are some people who drive their fine point cars. Touring class allows the owners to be able to drive the cars, and have some wear and tear on the cars. It also isnt as strict of judging as the fine point is. It can "look" correct, but not have to be original parts. I think if your friend wants a car to drive and enjoy, you should convince him to do touring class if he wants an original style car. Or just not worry about judging, get out enjoy the car, and make the car fit around what he wants out of it.
Old 06-13-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida