Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-05-2014, 01:24 PM   #1
JOES31

Default Motor Mounts what to do

I am new to the Model A and would like some advice before changing something.

I noticed that the motor mount on the dirvers side is cracked where one of the bolts fastens to the flywheel housing. It starts at the bolt and extends to the upper corners. It's cracked on both bolts. I don't know if the passenger side is cracked at least I can't see any, however I wouldn't be surprised if cracks have started from my experience with cars.

I could remove and tig them but don't know the pressure and stress involved in the engineering of the frame/motor. Or I found new mounts called Float a Motor that says it reduces vibration and seems more of an up to date motor mount. The other option is to find some old ones in good shape but I was wondering if the same thing would happen all over again.

My questions are has anyone had this happen and what did you do?
Also is the Float A Motor a good addition. Does it reduce vibration?
Is the Float A Motor safe to use.

This is not a points car. The care is mostly original except for some small parts, handles etc, so I am not that concerned with showing it.
Any input would be much appreciated before I tear into it and do something that might not work well or make a bigger problem.

Thanks
Joe
JOES31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 01:34 PM   #2
Brentwood Bob

Default Re: Motor Mounts what to do

Oem is the best option in my opinion. My rule of thumb is if the part does not fit something is out of alignment. Basically, research the replacement(Les Andrews manuals are a great start). Ask questions, and lookup an old guy like me to walk you thru it. Use original when ever possible, and throw nothing away.