Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-02-2015, 02:24 PM   #1
Dollar Bill

Default Number One Cylinder Isn't Helping

I'm new to Model A's but have some experience with 8N's. This is a new to me car and I'm having trouble with number one cylinder not playing well.

With the engine warmed up and idling, short out the first cylinder and the idle doesn't change a bit. Shorting the second one makes a slight difference in the idle but not as much as 3 and 4.

Car has been converted to 12 volts with modern style Remund (PerLux) distributor with electronic ignition and auto spark advance.

It has great spark to all four cylinders. Spark will jump about a 1 inch gap. Have swapped plugs between cylinders (Champion W18) with no difference in symptoms.

Had to wait several days for spark plug adapter to arrive and it came today. Was anxious to see what the compression readings were so I did not follow the correct procedures for doing a compression check. I only pulled the first plug and took the first reading of 50 psig. Gave it 4 squirts of oil and got the same reading.

Pulled the second plug and got 55 dry and 55 with oil.

Pulled the third plug and it read 60 dry and the same with oil.

Pulled number four and it read 60 and 65 with oil.

Now that I had all four plugs out they read: 60/65/65/65 from front to back.

I was really expecting different readings particularly on the one and two cylinder. Now I'm not sure how to proceed??
Dollar Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 02:30 PM   #2
George Miller

Default Re: Number One Cylinder Isn't Helping

Leak in the intake manifold gasket.
George Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 02:58 PM   #3
Mitch//pa
BANNED

what George said...