Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2020, 02:40 AM   #1
aussie merc
Senior Member
 
aussie merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: sydney australia
Posts: 409
Question voltage control for gauges

just a quick question runtz type voltage drops how many king sealy gauges will one run successfully
aussie merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 07:48 AM   #2
fortyonerag
Senior Member
 
fortyonerag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 354
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

Not sure on this, but each seem to be made for a single guage only.

What do you have in mind?
fortyonerag is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-24-2020, 09:09 AM   #3
Bursonaw
Senior Member
 
Bursonaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 298
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

The instructions are very clear only one per gauge.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bursonaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 11:14 AM   #4
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,592
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

If you are converting from 6 to 12 V use a CVR. Use a Ron Francis CVR (constant Voltage reducer) for best results. Read this:
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...oltage+reducer

Do a search on Constant Voltage Reducer and tons of info. appears.

Last edited by 19Fordy; 12-24-2020 at 11:21 AM.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 12:55 PM   #5
estout81
Senior Member
 
estout81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utica, Ohio
Posts: 502
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

Use what Ford used, starting in '57. NAPA # IR1.
estout81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 01:23 PM   #6
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 5,226
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Ditto on the NAPA IR1, takes care of all the gauges.
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2020, 06:17 AM   #7
aussie merc
Senior Member
 
aussie merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: sydney australia
Posts: 409
Default Re: voltage control for gauges

thanks one per gauge need to get gauges working correctly on 39 mercury
aussie merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.