Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-21-2020, 04:08 PM   #1
saxman657

Default Windshield Rattles

I'm beginning to notice excessive rattling with the windshield in my '28 Tudor. It's definitely occurring between the glass and the windshield frame. Does anyone have any quick fixes? If not, references for working in this area that includes removing the frame from the hinge, glass from the frame, and then re-installing glass with glass setting tape and gasket. Warning - I'm a rookie in this area.
saxman657 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 04:20 PM   #2
Tim Ayers

Default Re: Windshield Rattles

I'd love to know as well for I'll be setting the glass in my roadster soon.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 04:21 PM   #3
Synchro909

I've just sorted a rattle in the windscreen of my '28 Tudor too. It was the screw at the front end of the arm that holds the window open. Once tightened, no rattle.
If your problem is indeed the glass loose in the frame, try a little black silicone around the edges I'd apply it so that some goes in between the glass and the frame, then clean it up Silicone can be removed with Mineral Turpentine easily before it cures.
Old 12-21-2020, 05:15 PM   #4
t farr

I had an annoying rattle thought it was coming from the top, tightened the 2 screw that hold the frame to body and now nothing.
t farr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 05:39 PM   #5
Benson

A word of caution:

I would not drive this car until this is fixed.

My coupe in the 60's had a windshield where the glass rattled in the frame from the time that we bought it.

I drove it for 15,000 miles or so then in 1966 I had an accident where I hit the rear of a 56 Plymouth at 45 MPH that was stopped in front of me.

Minimal damage and the seat belt kept me from hitting the windshield and kept my chest from hitting the steering wheel any harder than it did.