Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2014, 09:16 AM   #21
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,855
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

My older Mallory electronic distributor wanted 8 volts at the coil.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:19 AM   #22
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross F-1 View Post
The voltage at the (+) terminal on the coil should be 12v or whatever the battery is at; the voltage at the (-) terminal would be dropped by the coil resistance if the points are closed.

You said "Have also added engine to ground strap." The negative battery cable should be going to the block or trans bellhousing. Is that how you have it?
Ground strap runs from bell housing to frame. Electronic distributor, no points.

Last edited by 36tudordeluxe; 05-20-2014 at 09:24 AM.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-20-2014, 09:22 AM   #23
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatjack9 View Post
Maybe, maybe not. What are the specs for voltage at the coil with the Mallory? What about plug wires?
According to to Bubba "Mallory says you can run 12V to coil with the correct 1.5 ohm resistant coil."
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:25 AM   #24
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatjack9 View Post
My older Mallory electronic distributor wanted 8 volts at the coil.
Mallory says okay at 12V to the coil with correct 1.5 ohm resistant coil.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:05 AM   #25
George/Maine
Senior Member
 
George/Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mid coast Maine
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

You could try and old dist with points, and go with 2 97s carbs.
George/Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:49 AM   #26
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planojc View Post
I agree with Bill. Voltage drop thru the ignition switch. Place a jumper across it and see if it comes up to 12v.
Contacts were cleaned when I had it apart.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:05 PM   #27
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

With fresh charge on battery, batt. shows 12.7V, 12.7V to starter solenoid and 12.7V to hot side of ignition switch, switch on cold side terminal shows 11.71V when switched on and 11.49V to positive side of coil and 9.8V across coil terminals due to internal resistor in coil. So question is: why am I getting nearly a full volt of drop across ignition switch when turned to the on position; I have disassembled and cleaned the contacts previously. Another curious thing is that when I flip the lever on the ignition switch to the on position it activates coil but when I turn lever to off position the coil still has power going to it, power does not completely go off until I turn ignition key to the off position.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:06 PM   #28
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by 36tudordeluxe View Post
Contacts were cleaned when I had it apart.
See latest post
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 02:38 PM   #29
George/Maine
Senior Member
 
George/Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mid coast Maine
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

When you say you turn key off do you have another switch for on and off.
The key is to lock the steering column my guess.
To get it to run get a wire with and alligator clip and jump it to coil direct,
With electronic ign you need a clean line with no add ons.
Try a new key switch with key start.
You can't be pure if the have electronic ign and 4 barrel carb.
George/Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 03:06 PM   #30
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by George/Maine View Post
When you say you turn key off do you have another switch for on and off.
The key is to lock the steering column my guess.
To get it to run get a wire with and alligator clip and jump it to coil direct,
With electronic ign you need a clean line with no add ons.
Try a new key switch with key start.
You can't be pure if the have electronic ign and 4 barrel carb.
"36 ignition switch has key and on/off lever, yes the steering column locks.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 03:14 PM   #31
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Bypassed the stock ignition switch with push/pull switch I used on test stand, results: no voltage drop between posts on switch, when I hookup coil wire to the switch voltage drops .37V with switch on and show 11.75V at the coil. Engine still runs rough.
Will try jumper wire direct from battery to coil.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:02 PM   #32
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Ran jumper cable for coil shows 12.3V but still runs rough.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:55 PM   #33
George/Maine
Senior Member
 
George/Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mid coast Maine
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

I don't know the history of engine.
Did you ever drive this car with this engine?
If it was rebuilt any cam changes.
Did you put the goodie on engine.
I want you to try and pump gas pedal few times and then hold half way down then start it and see if it reeves up quick.
These electronics dist. all ways pop up and as many times they do never hear a answer. That flathead will most likely NEVER SEE 5,000 RPMS
My best fix for you is put the dist. with points stock or Chevy dist. from Buba.
Good Luck
George/Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:58 PM   #34
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by George/Maine View Post
I don't know the history of engine.
Did you ever drive this car with this engine?
If it was rebuilt any cam changes.
Did you put the goodie on engine.
I want you to try and pump gas pedal few times and then hold half way down then start it and see if it reeves up quick.
These electronics dist. all ways pop up and as many times they do never hear a answer. That flathead will most likely NEVER SEE 5,000 RPMS
My best fix for you is put the dist. with points stock or Chevy dist. from Buba.
Good Luck
This engine ran great on test stand, it had no pressure plate or engine ground strap as it now does in the car. I installed L-100 cam when I assembled the engine. I would go to the Chevy distributor right now if I didn't know the engine ran so well on test stand with the electronic. Will try starting at half throttle but am confident it will rev up immediately.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 07:04 PM   #35
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

May have the wrong ignition module and coil for the distributor, exploring further.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 10:55 PM   #36
Bill OH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 206
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Do you have the vacuum wiper motor connected to the intake manifold? Bad hose or vacuum motor? Do you per chance have hyd brakes with a vacuum booster? Had a vacuum booster go bad for me.

You should not have a voltage drop across the ign switch. Use find sand paper on the contacts and then apply dielectric grease.

Also, you have run a ground strap from the frame to the motor. Is the battery grounded to the frame?
Bill OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 11:13 PM   #37
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill OH View Post
Do you have the vacuum wiper motor connected to the intake manifold? Bad hose or vacuum motor? Do you per chance have hyd brakes with a vacuum booster? Had a vacuum booster go bad for me.

You should not have a voltage drop across the ign switch. Use find sand paper on the contacts and then apply dielectric grease.

Also, you have run a ground strap from the frame to the motor. Is the battery grounded to the frame?
Bill, I do have about a 1 volt drop across the original '36 switch and have temporarily installed a push/pull switch that shows no voltage drop but still get the rough running. All vacuum ports on the carb. are blocked off. Yes, battery is grounded to the frame. Thanks for your interest. Bob
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 05:52 AM   #38
George/Maine
Senior Member
 
George/Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mid coast Maine
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

I guess it didn't rev up fast?
Do you know if the dist was ever any good.
Just another thing to check.
The emitter in center of dist., make sure you have a 8 cylinder one.
It will run with 6 my guess for today. Points are your friend if you can tek you can set them.
George/Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:53 AM   #39
36tudordeluxe
Senior Member
 
36tudordeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Have looked closer at voltage drop across ignition switch on both the original '36 switch and the temporary push/pull switch; both switches show a voltage drop when I hook up the coil wire............is this to be expected? I had previously stated in earlier post there was no voltage drop on the push/pull but that was incorrect.
36tudordeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:33 AM   #40
George/Maine
Senior Member
 
George/Maine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mid coast Maine
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Old problem revisited, rough running 8BA

Mallory Unilite electronic kit does,nt list one for 1953 Ford.
George/Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.