Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-20-2023, 10:01 AM   #1
zaugger

Default New generator leaking oil

Hey folks!

My old generator seized, so I bought a new refurbished one (from Bert's), installed it (along with a belt) and just took it out for a spin. When I came back I had oil leaking from the generator and it was hot and smoking. Any ideas what I did wrong here and next steps? I'm a newbie t this stuff. I hate to think I just fried it. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Chris
zaugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2023, 10:09 AM   #2
katy

Default Re: New generator leaking oil

Contact Bert's
Old 05-20-2023, 10:32 AM   #3
Will N

Probably not oil leaking. Probably melted coatings from armature and field coils. Did you happen to notice the ammeter while you were driving? What was the output?
Will N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2023, 11:11 AM   #4
Gary WA

If you have a lot of voltage, third brush set to high will melt the solder. cause lt to look like oil leaking!
Old 05-20-2023, 11:59 AM   #5
zaugger

The ampmeter looked straight up to me. The casing was very hot.
Old 05-20-2023, 08:50 PM   #6
bobbader

Possible bad ground between generator & engine. The generator needs proper grounding to function optimally. I agree that what you are seeing is melted insulating material. Any possibility you did some engine paint touch up on the generator mounting area while waiting for your new generator. Also a good idea to sand off some paint from the generator mounting brackets where they meet the afore mentioned mount on the engine.
bobbader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2023, 02:35 AM   #7
john charlton