Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-18-2016, 07:35 PM   #1
russcc

Default Converting Lockheed brake to Bendix

Need some parts info help converting '40 backing plates to Bendix. I know you can buy them, but as a former machinist, I prefer the challenge of doing it myself. What I would like to know is if the F 1 wheel cylinders, brake shoes, adjuster and springs will work on the Lockheed backing plates. I don't want to use the F 1 backing plate and cut the spindles.
I understand that the #29 brake shoes that fit a late '40s to early 50's Buick will work. Will this combination work with the stock '40 drums ?
Thank you Fordbrainers.
russcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:40 PM   #2
Charlie Stephens

Default Re: Converting Lockheed brake to Bendix

Try looking over at HAMB. Someone was doing what you propose over there.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:46 PM   #3
Lanny

hi Russ, here is a link to a rich b ad. I bought this same set-up from him a couple
years ago, and it worked out great, with just a little grinding on inside bearing.

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=194388

Old 04-18-2016, 07:54 PM   #4
Charlie Stephens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanny View Post
hi Russ, here is a link to a rich b ad. I bought this same set-up from him a couple
years ago, and it worked out great, with just a little grinding on inside bearing.

http://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=194388

Lanny,

One of us doesn't understand what Russ is trying too do. I assumed he wanted to start with a set of '39-'48 Lockeed brake backing plates and convert them to Bendix style.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 08:01 PM   #5
Ken/Alabama

Default Re: Converting Lockheed brake to Bendix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by russcc View Post