Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2020, 12:26 PM   #21
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnieroadster View Post
Joe in the past when I have experienced the exact same issue as yours even with the blower belt helping the dampening. The problem was due to a balance issue which turned out to be the flywheel area. Even red locktite would not help. I would suggest try green locktite its a lot stronger than red if the bolt still comes loose after going to green then checking the bolt regularly to be sure its tight would at least keep the bolt in place and not on the road someplace.
Ronnieroadster
Great advice as usual Ron, thank you
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 12:32 PM   #22
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GOSFAST View Post
Hi Joe, appears to be not enough torque on the bolt, this will cause your problem. If it doesn't get enough torque it will eventually work its way out!

What happens is having the correct "tension" on the bolt keeps it in place!

To add to the problem, the OEM dampers are NOT a press fit to begin with, this makes the torque number even more important.

Thanks, Gary in N.Y.

P.S. It's a bit ironic but Pontiac builds share the same characteristics, the OEM damper has always been a "slip-fit", getting the damper bolt up to torque does take a bit of doing! I don't have the OEM torque handy for the Flathead but the Pontiacs must get a minimum of 150# (160# preferred) to do the job! Same size bolt/washer as the Flatheads, being 5/8-18 x 1.750" I believe?
To Gary and others about the torque.
I was just going by the torque values I found here on the barn.
I'm using grade 8 bolts so I can definitely crank it down. I think I'd like to try the Nord-Lock style washers, I don't think it could hurt for the $2.50 the set costs.

It would be great if we could all agree on a torque value!!
Anyone??!!
Thanks, Joe

Last edited by jrvariel48; 09-13-2020 at 12:32 PM. Reason: spelling
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-13-2020, 01:01 PM   #23
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Could there be a problem with the space between the pulley face and crank face? It's about a 3/16" recess.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rsz_img_1892.jpg (28.3 KB, 58 views)

Last edited by jrvariel48; 09-13-2020 at 01:03 PM. Reason: spelling
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 02:18 PM   #24
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 962
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

I think you should look at the run-out of the pulley, i.e the amount between minimum and maximum at a point on the pulley.


I'd pull the plugs and try to get a helper; or turn crank bolt manually as you watch; or make a starter switch to bump it (ignition off).


If this static view isn't conclusive, I'd run it motor running through different RPMs with a helper and watch to see if you have dynamics of the pulley and/or crank snout vibrating from bending forces.

Last edited by glennpm; 09-13-2020 at 02:34 PM. Reason: add dynamic test
glennpm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 02:32 PM   #25
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 225
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

I don't think the distance from front of hub to end of crank is a problem as long as it's sitting properly on the machined register of the pulley and crank.

Your washer is THICK, right? Like 3/8" or so?

Joe Abbin recommends 130-145# of torque on the crank bolt, and that sounds about right.



Terry
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 03:35 PM   #26
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,282
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I just went and checked the bolt head size of the crank pulley bolt holding the crank pulley to my 8BA crankshaft. The head size is 7/8 in. I am using 8RT water pumps and the pressed steel 49 Merc wide belt crank pulley

The 5/8 size mentioned by others in this thread seems to small to me.
Could it be a misprint? Look at what the 49-51 Merc repair manual says below..

FYI: In the 1949-51 Mercury Manual, on page 72 of Volume 1 it shows the crank pulley to crankshaft bolt to be 5/8-18 x 1 1/8 long and that it's tightened to 130 to 135 foot pounds for the 1949 and 1950 Merc and 45 to 55 foot pounds for the 1951 Merc. only.


Clarification of this issue would be appreciated.

Last edited by 19Fordy; 09-13-2020 at 08:18 PM.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 06:22 PM   #27
Ronnieroadster
Senior Member
 
Ronnieroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Coast in CT
Posts: 851
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Joe the washer under your bolt should sit on the inner lower surface of the hub assembly not on the face of the outer pulley which is a higher surface. The washer should be thick as mentioned above at least 3/8 inch and as large a diameter possible when sitting into that recess. As to the idea the torque needs to be extremely high heck the stock Flathead washer and bolt would never set at such high torque numbers the washer is to thin the bolt is mild steel and the thread is in a casting. Toque at 65 foot pounds is plenty thats all i ever use {on street engines and all out very fast engines} when the washer is thick enough and large enough in diameter to hold the pressure.
Ronnieroadster
__________________
I use the F word a lot no not that word these words Flathead , Focus and Finish.
"Life Member of the Bonneville 200 MPH Club using a Ford Flathead block"
Owner , Builder and Driver of the First Ford Flathead bodied roadster to run 200 MPH Record run July 13, 2018 LTA timing association 200.921 from a standing start in one and a half miles burning gasoline.
Ronnieroadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2020, 06:49 PM   #28
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,276
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnieroadster View Post
Toque at 65 foot pounds is plenty thats all i ever use {on street engines and all out very fast engines} when the washer is thick enough and large enough in diameter to hold the pressure.
Ronnieroadster
65 may work fine, but all of the Ford spec's I'm seeing are around 130-140.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 03:03 AM   #29
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,778
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Here's an idea. As you have bolts nearby, why not make a plate with a hex hole in the middle that drops over the bolt head and then has the other bolts going through it to lock it in place? Or some other sort of tab washer type device, or even some locking wire attached to an adjacent bolt.
That said, a good bolt, a decent washer (turned up in a lathe as a custom job) and a spring washer ought to be all that is required.
Just thinking out loud.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 08:30 AM   #30
jimvette59
Senior Member
 
jimvette59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perry OH
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Zeke3 the pulley is longer then the end of the crankshaft.
jimvette59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 09:41 AM   #31
GOSFAST
Senior Member
 
GOSFAST's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrvariel48 View Post
Could there be a problem with the space between the pulley face and crank face? It's about a 3/16" recess.
Hi Joe, can you measure that pulley opening across? It appears (from the photo) the factory washer will not fit that particular setup?

The OEM Flathead washer measures .312" (thick) x 1.560" (O.D.) x .660" (hole size).

The Pontiac washer measures .310" (thick) x 1.625" (O.D.) x .655" (hole size).


The OEM (8BA) Flathead bolt measures 1.625" (O/A length) x 1.150" (UHL threaded) x .875" hex nut (.470" thick).

The Pontiac bolt measures 2.000" (O/A length) x 1.600" (UHL threaded) x .937" hex nut (.400" thick).

Thanks, Gary in N.Y.

P.S. I know there's different opinions above on the torque for these size bolts but I definitely would want to at least be in the right neighborhood! For instance, if you back the torque way down your wheel lugnuts who do you blame when your wheels "fall-off"?? (More or less kidding here, maybe)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Damper Bolts-Washers Flathead vs Pontiac.jpg (41.1 KB, 20 views)
GOSFAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 10:10 AM   #32
Zeke3
Senior Member
 
Zeke3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 368
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

The picture shows the crank nose, and inner hub and the accessory pulley. I assume the slot in the inner hub is for the keyway and the inner hub is installed such that it is pressing on the oil slinger and crankshaft gear.

I would fill most of the gap between the nose of the crankshaft and the inner hub with a spacer, leaving the inner hub slightly higher than the spacer. Then use a thick washer, no larger than the outside diameter of the inner hub so it does not press on the accessory pulley, as Ronnie suggested. Also, a grade 5 capscrew will be perfectly adequate at 65 ft-lb torque.

If that thing still falls out, I would safety wire it to one of the other bolts on the accessory pulley.
Zeke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 04:18 PM   #33
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

So I'm having my machinist make me a 3/8" thick washer at the proper diameter (1.750 OD) with a grade 8 bolt and the Nord-Lock system. I'll torque to 65-70 lbs and check it everytime I go for a ride. I also like the thought of tie wire and will do that if I find it loose again.

I appreciate all the input and will post the results!
Thanks again to everyone!
Joe
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 04:23 PM   #34
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 962
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

That will be a good bolt up. Do yourself a favor and drill the bolt for safety wire now. If you find itís getting loose, tighten it up and wire it.

Glenn
glennpm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 04:58 PM   #35
Hal Beatty
Senior Member
 
Hal Beatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 167
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

And I would have to agree with the safety wire suggestions. .041 diameter SS wire will hold a lot if it's properly installed.
Hal Beatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 03:29 AM   #36
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,085
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

Looking at the pulley, I have three button head screws that I'll have to change to hex head to drill them for the safety wire.
I'll wire from crank bolt to one of the three bolts. Should I wire the remaining two bolts together?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rsz_img_1892.jpg (28.3 KB, 12 views)
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 05:58 AM   #37
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 962
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

It would be a good idea. If you don't want to use hex head bolts, maybe limited wrench clearance, use Allen head and drill those.


Glenn
glennpm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 01:23 PM   #38
Tony, NY
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Capital of Corruption , NY
Posts: 717
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt...Lost again!!

I would also use regular socket screws (drilled). Some info on button head screws: "Button head screws, set screws, and studs cannot be torqued like ordinary screws. These screws have a small contact area where the tool is applied compared to other kinds of head types (e.g. hex, socket, cap, Torx, etc.) Torque on these screws must be reduced. If this is not done, either the screw, the piece being fastened, or the tool will be damaged."
Tony, NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.