Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-15-2011, 09:53 AM   #1
ahoogakev

Default Roof Chicken Wire and Cotton Padding Questions

Hello A Gang, I am wondering if anyone knows what gauge of thickness the chicken wire used for the roof was originally? I was looking at some today in my local store, and it was 22 gauge, it seems so skinny! Isn't
is supposed to be a heavy wire? While I am at it, I need to find out how thick the cotton padding should be that goes on top of the wire, I've never done a roof before so I have no idea if it should be 1 inch 2 inches or
what? Thanks a lot ! Kev
ahoogakev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:04 AM   #2
Jon-Ohio

Default Re: Roof Chicken Wire and Cotton Padding Questions

Not sure about the gauge or padding thickness, but for my 1930 coupe, I used the standard hardware store chicken wire netting and cut a pad out of an old wore out used mattress pad that I had - it worked fine.
Jon-Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:05 PM   #3
Buddy P.

I just finished re-doing my roof and left the origional chicken wire in place,just tightening it to the edge wood.It was the same gauge which can be bought in the hardware stores today.Look for corosion where it might have gotten wet(leaky roof,you know) and pull loose staples or replace all of them.
BR Bud.73
Buddy P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 05:34 PM   #4
Doug in NJ

I used chicken wire from the hardware store and it was fine. For the padding, I used the material from Brattons. It sort of resembles cotton, but it is actually some synthetic material, that will not soak up water or become mildewy.

Doug
Old 07-16-2011, 10:44 AM   #5
ahoogakev