Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-13-2022, 04:31 AM   #1
bikemaniac

Smile Off topic: If you were 18 again?

Hi,

I'm at a point in life where I have the possibility to do something entirely new in terms of occupation. I have had, and still have many hobbies and a few years back I even restored a Model A.

I'm a mechanical engineer but I've run away from corporate lifestyle since it gets worse year by year (95% of all mechanical engineers do computerized 3D modeling and when not they attend boring worthless meetings). I have talked to a number of fellow engineers and surprisingly many admit that they would become woodworkers/cabinetmakers/carpenters if they could choose to do their life all over again (become 18 again). I agree with them since I also enjoy working with wood.

So if you could choose your ideal occupation, what would i be based on your life experience? Would you open a shop where you wrench old model A's all day long - or something else?

Lucas
bikemaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 06:22 AM   #2
Mike Peters

Default Re: Off topic: If you were 18 again?

After majoring in geology in college, I landed a summer office job in an asbestos mine. Hated it. We decided to go farming, eventually bought a farm and still farming 44 years later. Never looked back. Would do it over again.
The lesson here is "Do what you like to do, and not what other people expect you to do"
Mike Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 06:40 AM   #3
ronn

I have a slightly different approach.......... do what makes you lots of $ in a very few hours per week, and enjoy that $ pursuing the many other interests you have.

If you choose an occupation that pays poorly, you will always be behind the 8 ball.
If you are multi talented, you can enjoy many many things in life. Nothing is perfect.