Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-11-2018, 02:00 PM   #1
chrs1961815

Default HELP! I can't start my 28 roadster!

I need some assoatance with starting my 28 roadster. This is the first time I have ever owned a car this old much less a model a. So I am a newbie to all of this. I have read the original manual and other books but even after trying different combinations I have had no luck. I need to get it started soon as I have to go to a car show with it the 25th of August. By the way, this is a restored car with a 1931 ford engine in it with no modifications. Before I bought it, the previous owner had it all serviced and checked. I don't think there is anything qrong with it, I just need some insight from the seasoned veterans of model a's to get this puppy started.
chrs1961815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 02:25 PM   #2
Mike Peters

Default Re: HELP! I can't start my 28 roadster!

The problem could be any number of things. If you don't live far from whomever you bought the car from , then get them to help you. Or, someone with Model A experience. A Model A will run if it has.
1.Spark
2. Compression
3. Fuel
Beyond that, it's a crap shoot. Good luck.
Mike Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 02:42 PM   #3
chrs1961815

Thats part of the problem: the car is from Miami. I have been trying to track down someone near me that has knowledge of these things. Most of those guys are gone now.
Old 08-11-2018, 03:45 PM   #4
Marshall V. Daut