Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2020, 08:58 PM   #1
Mike/Nebraska
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern, Nebraska
Posts: 270
Default 6v t0 12 v

I can't get my blaycock overdrive to work on 6v. I know some have said it worked on 6v but mine don't. what kind of a power convertor do I need to convert my 6v system to 12v to run my overdrive and where are they available.
Mike/Nebraska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 04:18 AM   #2
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 826
Default Re: 6v t0 12 v

Will this work?

https://www.brattons.com/six-to-twel...r-2-5-amp.html


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-25-2020, 11:28 AM   #3
VinceBlack
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kansas
Posts: 47
Default Re: 6v t0 12 v

Look on eBay I bought a 6 to 12 power supply, I think it's 5 amp out put. I put one in to run a CB. Small unit, I mounted it to the A Plate under 20.00$ they have higher out puts it needed. It's called Digten dc 6v 5-11 V to 12 volt 10 A step up converter regulator waterproof boost 35.35

Last edited by VinceBlack; 09-25-2020 at 11:40 AM. Reason: Added info
VinceBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 01:57 PM   #4
Herb Concord Ca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Concord CA
Posts: 341
Default Re: 6v t0 12 v

I have had a Laycock overdrive on 2 6 Volt cars, It worked fine on both. To check the solenoid operation, run a jumper wire (16 or 14 gauge) from battery to solenoid terminal, should hear a click. Make sure the other solenoid terminal is connected to ground.
Herb Concord Ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2020, 02:43 PM   #5
Doug Linden
Senior Member
 
Doug Linden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 145
Default Re: 6v t0 12 v

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Yes, as Herb Concord says, the key is using proper size wire. I was having an intermittent problem and cleaned all the connections and used new 14g wire and the problem disappeared. These OD's work fine on 6 volts.
Doug Linden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.