Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-11-2022, 10:00 PM   #1
drfromnc

Default Front brake line routing advice

These questions were part of my other thread but got buried near the end and not many replies. Opinions and advice needed on front brake line routing because I have never done this before. FYI, Both front wheels have a flex line bracket hangin down under the frame rail vs bulkhead through frame rail. This is on a 34 pickup, 59a engine and original chassis.

Question 1: brake line routing from MC to left front T. Which option is best and why?

Option 1 is to route it along the inside or under the top lip of the left hand x member and then along top side of bottom lip of front frame rail. This would shield it best from road debris as well as heat from exhaust pipe (going with reds headers and dual pipes) but does mean a “barrel roll” bend to connect line to T.
Option 2 is to route it along the underside of left hand crossmember and then underside of left frame rail to T. Easiest route to bend. More exposure to road debris and exhaust heat on this route. I do have enough armor coil to cover the line.

Question 2: line route from left T to right wheel flex line. Sort of decided to run it along the back side of the front crossmember but not sure which is best:

Option 1 is to run it on underside of front crossmember (tucked up under the lip)with armor coil protecting both ends.
Option 2 is to run it on top side of back edge of front crossmember. The only issue I can think of is a clearance issue between crank pulley and line mounted on crossmember. Might make it difficult to change my belt. FYI, 34 pickup with 59a flatty and I remember tight fit in that area. I don’t have my motor back from builder yet to verify this clearance.

I welcome any advice on what options to go with or alternatives and why.
drfromnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 10:28 PM   #2