Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-16-2022, 03:02 PM   #1
Pamodelaroadster

Default Engine bearing questions

Hello, I’m new to model engines. I took the oil pan off to check things out, I was getting a lot of oil leakage out the rear main. Here’s a picture of the rear main,to me it looks like these are bearing inserts not Babbitt bearings and they cut an oil drain groove, several. The rear main had one shim on one side that is .007” thick. When I take it out and put the cap back on the engine is still not locked up. The rear crank journal looks very good to the naked eye.The crank end play is .004”. I didn’t get to the other bearings yet. Thanks for any comments!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg D19865D6-1EAA-4BB3-89E6-A46FC7158625.jpg (39.3 KB, 385 views)
Pamodelaroadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2022, 03:29 PM   #2
Joe K

Default Re: Engine bearing questions

A fairly normal "homebuilt" rebabbit job. The X scribe is not done correctly - although what is considered "best" technique depends on who is doing the rebabbit.

The fact that the cap was as "unbalanced" as you found it MAY be the root cause of your leak. This one certainly a candidate for "plastigauge" and then figuring out the minimum EQUAL amount of shims required for each side.

The two sides of the bearing HAVE to have the same thickness in shim because it is the shim that "seals" the bearing against movement of the oil along the mating surface. Some shims have paper backings which can act to give the seal some "give" and allow perhaps one thickness to be removed from one side for optimal bearing tightness - and yet not make a wedge shaped "leak path."

Normally I would say this one should be 're-done' as a way to make sure it does not leak. Still, there are steps you can take which can reduce the leak-path beginning with equalizing the shims.