Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-03-2022, 08:18 PM   #1
abrosz

Default Any advice?

Hello forum!

Newbie here. I inherited my grandfather's 1928 Ford Model A Tudor several years back. For the longest time I didn't have any problems driving it. In the past couple years I've really struggled with it running consistently. This weekend was a prime example. It starts right up without any problems and will run smoothly for 10-15 minutes. Then it starts to choke, sputter, knock and ultimately dies if I don't turn it off. I'm afraid to drive it too far from home for fear it dies away from home. If I let it set for a while it'll start and run fine again for a short while and then start to sputter.

For a while I thought it was a leaky carburetor and fuel lines. I had them replaced. The battery is brand new. For a while I was running the spark too retarded, but today with the spark level advanced all the way down it still started to sputter.

I have the gas adjustment valve open about 1/4 turn.

Can anyone help me troubleshoot this? Why would my A run perfectly for 15 minutes and then die? Could it be overheating? Bad spark plugs? Could the timing be off?

Any help or suggestions you all might have would be appreciated.
abrosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 08:24 PM   #2
Ordsgt

Default Re: Any advice?

It is hard too trouble shoot this way but had a similar situation with a friends and found the main jet clogged. I don't know where you are located but I am sure there is a model A guy fairly close that could help
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 08:56 PM   #3
dansluck

Send a message via AIM to dansluck Send a message via Yahoo to dansluck