Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2021, 11:56 AM   #1
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 558
Default Correct gauge wire

What gauge wire is run thru the stock ammeter on 38' ford stock 6v system?
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2021, 08:29 PM   #2
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,130
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will D View Post
What gauge wire is run thru the stock ammeter on 38' ford stock 6v system?
I don't have a reference for 38, but several later years call out 10 gauge for pass-thru ammeters.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-16-2021, 01:54 AM   #3
34fivewindow
Senior Member
 
34fivewindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santa Rosa, Calif.
Posts: 316
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will D View Post
What gauge wire is run thru the stock ammeter on 38' ford stock 6v system?
10 gauge wire.
34fivewindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 07:39 PM   #4
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 558
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Thanks guys.
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 08:00 AM   #5
jimvette59
Senior Member
 
jimvette59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perry OH
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Just a note Fuse size is to protect the wire size.

Last edited by jimvette59; 08-19-2021 at 07:24 AM.
jimvette59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 11:05 AM   #6
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 8,942
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimvette59 View Post
Just a note Fuse size is to protect he wire size.

......and...fuses are designed to protect wiring...NOT the device, or load. DD

.
__________________
Click Links Below

'35-'36 W/8BA & MECHANICAL FAN


T5 W/TORQUE TUBE
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 12:11 PM   #7
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 558
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Should I be adding a fuse to this wire? It goes from starter solenoid, looped thru ammeter and to starter switch. Any accessory lights I have run direct from the battery thru a fuse and a relay.
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 12:50 PM   #8
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

No fuse.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 02:37 PM   #9
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,130
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

The original was not fused. Way later years used a fusible link in the wiring.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 04:12 PM   #10
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 558
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
The original was not fused. Way later years used a fusible link in the wiring.

I'm going away from the cloth wire to plastic coated, originality is not huge on the list.... would you recommended adding a fuse for the heck of it or leave it out?
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 04:48 PM   #11
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 8,942
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will D View Post
I'm going away from the cloth wire to plastic coated, originality is not huge on the list.... would you recommended adding a fuse for the heck of it or leave it out?

Leave the fuse out on that circuit. You DO realize that all wires are not the same. You want a soft-stranded, very flexible automotive-type wire that is not so stiff as to be prone to vibration-induced cracking, like "GXL" wire. DD
__________________
Click Links Below

'35-'36 W/8BA & MECHANICAL FAN


T5 W/TORQUE TUBE
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 02:06 PM   #12
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 13,336
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

If a buss wire is fused, which is rare in automobiles in the early Ford era, it has to have a fuse and a wire that can carry the rated load of the system. The 1938 was likely still a 25-amp system with a 3-brush generator and a cut out relay but it may depend on whether it is a standard or deluxe model. Voltage regulators and 35-amp generators were in their infancy in 1938. 10 AWG wire would still be a safe bet. A fuse would not be original on a buss wire. Many used circuit breakers instead of fuses for protected circuits.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 04:35 PM   #13
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
If a buss wire is fused, which is rare in automobiles in the early Ford era, it has to have a fuse and a wire that can carry the rated load of the system. The 1938 was likely still a 25-amp system with a 3-brush generator and a cut out relay but it may depend on whether it is a standard or deluxe model. Voltage regulators and 35-amp generators were in their infancy in 1938. 10 AWG wire would still be a safe bet. A fuse would not be original on a buss wire. Many used circuit breakers instead of fuses for protected circuits.
The ‘40 Ford came out with what was called a circuit breaker for the lighting circuits, before which were 20 amp fuses on the earlier models. The so-called circuit breaker was actually an intermittent contact buzzer(terminology?) that was said to provide needed headlights at night at intervals spaced close enough to see where the roadway was. The circuit would heat up, overload, trip, cool down, and reset itself at a speed that had it described as a buzzer.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 06:46 PM   #14
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,130
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by ford38v8 View Post
The ‘40 Ford came out with what was called a circuit breaker for the lighting circuits, before which were 20 amp fuses on the earlier models. The so-called circuit breaker was actually an intermittent contact buzzer(terminology?) that was said to provide needed headlights at night at intervals spaced close enough to see where the roadway was. The circuit would heat up, overload, trip, cool down, and reset itself at a speed that had it described as a buzzer.
Yes, but not on the circuit in question.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:10 PM   #15
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 13,336
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

They used a bi-metallic strip that would hold connection till it got hot enough to trip. As soon as it cools then the circuit is restored. These type of short stop CBs were used up until recent 10 or 20 years ago in trucks and Harley Davidson motorcycles.

Last edited by rotorwrench; 08-18-2021 at 07:15 PM.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 08:52 PM   #16
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
They used a bi-metallic strip that would hold connection till it got hot enough to trip. As soon as it cools then the circuit is restored. These type of short stop CBs were used up until recent 10 or 20 years ago in trucks and Harley Davidson motorcycles.
That’s good info, and serves to reaffirm that simple, basic technology continues to have value in today’s complicated world.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 09:46 PM   #17
VeryTangled
Senior Member
 
VeryTangled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: (Not far enough...) Outside of DC
Posts: 3,188
Default Re: Correct gauge wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will D View Post
I'm going away from the cloth wire to plastic coated, originality is not huge on the list.
Hi Everyone. Will D, The replacement wire looms for my '35, purchased within the last 5 years, were copper-rubber-cloth. So you can have it both ways, the original look with the accepted safety factor.

The original wiring is just copper-cloth and any of it you have that is 80 years old simply must go away.
__________________
-Jeff H

Have you thought about supporting the Early Ford V-8 Foundation Museum?
VeryTangled is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.