Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-08-2017, 01:04 PM   #1
Dave Young

Default Buying an out of state car on the internet

A newbie here ... desperately looking for a real nice model A but can't find anything local or even within a couple of hundred miles. Looks like I'll have to resort to the internet sites and buy out of state and unseen.

I've done some traveling to look at a few but have been disappointed when they don't live up to their descriptions. I'm scared to think about cars living up to their descriptions when you can't actually view them in person.

And then there's interstate shipping to contend with ... I've read a lot of horror stories on the internet about rip-offs with huge extra charges, etc.

What's a fella to do? Can anyone here convince me that my fears are unfounded and that actually, sending someone you don't know, twenty or
so thousands of dollars is quite common and nothing to worry about, and that my car will be as described and arrive unblemished and with no extra charges. Thanks, in advance, for your encouragement. Cheers, Dave
Dave Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 01:13 PM   #2
mhsprecher

Default Re: Buying an out of state car on the internet

I don't think that is a great idea, unless you might buy from someone who advertises in one of the club publications or web site. I have had good luck on local Craigslist, but it depends upon where you are? You don't say, so you might start with that.

If you are not a member of a local club chapter, I would join and then see what members have for sale. It may just be that you live very remotely, which limits your choices. If that is your only option, I would be sure to go see the car first hand. I know that is expensive, but it could save untold headaches. Some club members near where you hope to get the car would help, too.