Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-02-2021, 05:34 PM   #1
KenBolton

Default Distributor Fine Tuning

I am new to flatheads and am thoroughly enjoying my ‘37. Last fall I had the radiator re-cord and the distributor rebuilt. I didn’t get them back until winter. After putting them in the car started, idled and ran fine until I ran down the drive. When I shifted into second gear I didn’t have any pickup or pull to advance in speed in order to shift into third. After consulting my new flathead shop manual I loosened the points adjustment screw and attempted to move the plate up an indicator notch or two to advance the timing. The engine is off. Both screw and the adjustment plate is nice and loose but I cannot move the plate either up or down. Wondering if the cam needed to move a bit to allow adjustment I rocked the motor forward a bit but it didn’t help. My understandings from the book is that the plate is slotted and should move up and down.
What am I missing? Should the motor be running in order to make this adjustment?
KenBolton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:20 PM   #2
36coupe

Default Re: Distributor Fine Tuning

If the distributor was rebuilt and adjusted you shouldn’t have to touch it. You should be up one notch on the advance adjustment for proper advance. (Passenger side)
Maybe the vacuum brake is too tight?
There is lots of more experienced folks on here other than me.
36coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:26 PM   #3
Zeke3

The plate should move independent of the engine or cam turning. I would discuss the performance issue with whoever rebuilt it for you, if possible. Definitely don't try to adjust it with the engine running.
Zeke3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 10:35 PM   #4
flatjack9

It is not easy to move, might have to give it a little bump.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote