Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-22-2017, 11:17 AM   #1
Chris Nelson

Default Timing Mallory Unilite mechanical Advance

I have a timing light, but I am not experienced in its use. Can someone give me step by step the setting of the timing? The engine is an 8BA with a 77B Isky cam, dual 97s and a PCV valve and Mallory mech. advance dist.
The car starts hard and stumbles when cold, but fires up easily when warm and runs smooth. I'm not sure of the timing at present.
Chris Nelson 206-915-4773
Chris Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 12:56 PM   #2
tubman

Default Re: Timing Mallory Unilite mechanical Advance

In my opinion, the factory timing specifications go out the window when an engine is modified to any extent, especially if the camshaft is changed. What I have done with modified engines is to disconnect and plug the vacuum advance (if any), and hook up a vacuum gauge. I adjust the timing until the vacuum gauge shows the highest reading, and then retard the timing just a smidge. This has worked for me on everything from flatheads to Chrysler hemis , to even (gasp!) SBC's.

All of this aside, the symptoms the engine is exhibiting don't look like an initial timing problem to me.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 01:16 PM   #3
rotorwrench