Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-20-2017, 01:24 PM   #1
Robert Demlong

Default 1933 Rear Tire carrier

I am new at restoring a 1933 Ford Fordor and want to add on the rear tire carrier which I have. There are no mounting holes in the sheet metal and their must be some kind of brackets or plates keeping the weight of the tire from pulling on or through the sheet metal. I can't find any pictures or description. Any one that has one attached that can send me photos or describe how it is attached to the body or frame would be attached. Thanks Bob
Robert Demlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 01:54 PM   #2
Newc

Default Re: 1933 Rear Tire carrier

Hi; Your rear cross member tube type, should have the tire mount holes and bracket for the cast tire mount that is external [outside] the body. Do you have the 33/34 book from the Early V8 Club? Newc
Newc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 04:50 PM   #3
Robert Demlong

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newc View Post
Hi; Your rear cross member tube type, should have the tire mount holes and bracket for the cast tire mount that is external [outside] the body. Do you have the 33/34 book from the Early V8 Club? Newc
Thanks so much for responding, I have the book and found an example of the possible part on Appendix C-14 (looks like a stamped sheet) which looks different from the one Page D-14 (looks like an H frame pattern) which is on the skeleton on the car. I'm missing both pieces it looks like. I probably can get them refabricated. Do you know if the top of the brace attaches to something after bolting through the gas tank cover? It looks like it just sits above the sending unit. I attached scans from the book to show what I was confused about. I appreciate your insight. Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SCAN0181.jpg (45.5 KB, 103 views)
File Type: jpg SCAN0180.jpg (86.0 KB, 104 views)