Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2020, 09:12 AM   #1
Bill Goddard
Senior Member
 
Bill Goddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shrewsbury,Pa
Posts: 509
Default Trouble changing fan belt

I can not change my fan belt without removing the front engine mount screws from the engine and raising the engine about 1/16" to let the belt pass through the gap between the crank pulley rim and the flange of the forged motor mount. I have been using a BX cross-section belt that is 13/32" thick and 5/8" wide. This is too thick
I can use an AX cross-section which is 5/16" thick and 1/2" wide. This passes through nicely. I think I have a repo forged front mount that is too short allowing the flange to close the gap to the crank pulley. Most people I tell this to tell me to just lift the motor but they forget the relationship of pulley to mount flange is fixed by the engine bolts.

Is there a ford drawing that shows the proper dimension from the 2 bolt holes to the under side of the mount flange? I can't believe Henry built 4.5 million cars with this defect. This could be a problem on the side of the road.
Thanks, Bill G

Last edited by Bill Goddard; 08-14-2020 at 11:20 AM.
Bill Goddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 09:52 AM   #2
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 657
Default Re: Trouble changing fan belt

I am wondering if your crank handle can be inserted in the ratchet bolt. This will show you if your engine is sitting to low or not.
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-14-2020, 10:55 AM   #3
Bill Goddard
Senior Member
 
Bill Goddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shrewsbury,Pa
Posts: 509
Default Re: Trouble changing fan belt

Again, it doesn't matter. The space is fixed between the crank pulley rim and engine mount flange as long as the mount is attached to the engine. And the starting crank does enter the bushing -- works fine.
Bill Goddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 11:31 AM   #4
Benson
Senior Member
 
Benson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snork Key
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Trouble changing fan belt

Bill,

I have had trouble getting belt installed with SOME of the REPRO Front engine mounts.

They are the wrong shape and prevent installing the belt.
Mine is July 29 coupe.

Last edited by Benson; 08-18-2020 at 10:57 AM.
Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 11:36 AM   #5
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 2,138
Default Re: Trouble changing fan belt

I've turned the belt sideways over the engine pulls ,and turn the motor over with the hand crank. It does leave marks in the belt using a new belt doesn't seam to hurt the belt.
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 05:50 PM   #6
Dougs 28
Junior Member
 
Dougs 28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Glendora, Calif..
Posts: 17
Default Re: Trouble changing fan belt

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Try using a linkbelt type belt and you won’t have a problem installing it.
Dougs 28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.