Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-27-2020, 11:18 PM   #1
Rocket455

Default Do I have an 8BA? or..

I'm a little confused, guys. I'm relatively new to this Ford Flathead stuff. I have a 1950 Coupe with the original engine rebuilt and getting ready to go back in. I'm thinking about either a T5 or C4/C6 adapter. I want to make sure that I get the right thing.

On the Speedway website they have an adapter for T5 but it fits "1932-48 Ford or 1939-50 Mercury engines." Which is not what I have.

Then the C4/C6 adapter states " 1949-1953 Ford 8BA and 8CM Mercury Flathead V8 engines."

So do I have an 8BA? How can I tell for sure? Because also Wikipedia says the 8BA came out in 49. But then in 1950 it mentions an OBA. Is that a type error in Wikipedia? Because not much specifies that it fits an OBA. They mostly specify 8BA.

Is there a way to get the T5 adapter to work on my engine? Whatever I actually have. Why would it work on a 50 Merc but not mine? But the C4/C6 adapter will work on both?

Sorry for having so many words.

Last edited by Rocket455; 04-27-2020 at 11:24 PM. Reason: mistake
Rocket455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2020, 11:28 PM   #2
JSeery
Member Emeritus

Default Re: Do I have an 8BA? or..

It should have an 8ba. One of the big difference is in the bellhousing area of the block. The 59a block has half of the bellhousing cast into the block. An 8ba does not. Might spend some time looking around VanPelt's site, lot of information and diagrams there.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 12:07 AM   #3
V8COOPMAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket455 View Post
I'm a little confused, guys. I'm relatively new to this Ford Flathead stuff. I have a 1950 Coupe with the original engine rebuilt and getting ready to go back in. I'm thinking about either a T5 or C4/C6 adapter. I want to make sure that I get the right thing.