Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2022, 05:29 PM   #1
lance leblanc
Senior Member
 
lance leblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 238
Default Raidiator hose gap

Reinstalling my 29 Tudor radiator today, ran into a situation that has me stumped. When fan belt is tight, I have less than a 1/4” space between the return radiator hose and the belt. When generator is pushed all the way in and touching block I still only have at most 1/2”. So no much room for shorter belt.
I’ve added a shim at the ft motor mount but that did not have much effect. I have 1/8” pads under radiator.
Questioning hose angle but still unable to get safe spacing. I did replace my engine mounts with new.
__________________
Lance

"When Solomon said there was a time and place for everything he had not encountered the problem of parking his automobile." Bob Edwards
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 05:31 PM   #2
lance leblanc
Senior Member
 
lance leblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 238
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

https://i.imgur.com/81rHA0s.jpg
__________________
Lance

"When Solomon said there was a time and place for everything he had not encountered the problem of parking his automobile." Bob Edwards

Last edited by lance leblanc; 06-28-2022 at 06:14 PM. Reason: Add image
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-28-2022, 08:03 PM   #3
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

You could try the H bracket used for alternators. See https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/p...6002&cat=41710

Or make something similar. Or modify the H bracket for the larger bolt used for the generator.
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 09:44 PM   #4
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 8,009
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

Do you have the correct water return pipe? See the link to Vince's site.
https://www.fordgarage.com/pages/waterpipes.htm
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 10:02 PM   #5
lance leblanc
Senior Member
 
lance leblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 238
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

This may be the answer. Seems likely that the first top pipe for 28 may offer a solution. The pipe that I’m using was on the car when I tore down. However the radiator sat on thicker pads and engine was on an after market front mount.
https://i.imgur.com/WCbAc3C.jpg
__________________
Lance

"When Solomon said there was a time and place for everything he had not encountered the problem of parking his automobile." Bob Edwards

Last edited by lance leblanc; 06-28-2022 at 10:17 PM. Reason: Add image
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 11:13 PM   #6
lrf
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: long beach ca
Posts: 71
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
If I remember correctly, the belt is 44 inches long, you may want to do some measuring and don't over tighten the belt tension, 1/2 to 1 inch play will save your generator and water pump bearings!
lrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 12:52 AM   #7
lance leblanc
Senior Member
 
lance leblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 238
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkaminar View Post
You could try the H bracket used for alternators. See https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/p...6002&cat=41710

Or make something similar. Or modify the H bracket for the larger bolt used for the generator.
This is what I was first thinking I might try. But since it didn’t have it when I tore it down I figured, why would I need it now.
__________________
Lance

"When Solomon said there was a time and place for everything he had not encountered the problem of parking his automobile." Bob Edwards
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 07:10 AM   #8
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

What changed? Different generator? Different front engine mount or installed differently (does hand crank line up?)? Different radiator or pads? Different fan belt? Different generator mounting bolt? Different front cover where generator mounts?

If nothing is different maybe it was that way originally and it just didn't get noticed.

Look at some other cars to see what is different with yours.
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 07:32 PM   #9
lance leblanc
Senior Member
 
lance leblanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Baton Rouge LA
Posts: 238
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

A shorter belt is all it took. 41” belt provided the clearance I was looking for. However the shop I got belt from only had it in a 1/2” width. I hope this won’t present a different issue.
__________________
Lance

"When Solomon said there was a time and place for everything he had not encountered the problem of parking his automobile." Bob Edwards
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 07:51 PM   #10
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 2,272
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

The grainger 5L430 fits my car. Some engines use a 44. I believe I put it on by removing and reinstalling the pulley.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 5E329605-7FFB-404E-8626-32542A865793.jpg (6.4 KB, 9 views)
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 04:05 AM   #11
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6,531
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

Quote:
Originally Posted by lance leblanc View Post
A shorter belt is all it took. 41” belt provided the clearance I was looking for. However the shop I got belt from only had it in a 1/2” width. I hope this won’t present a different issue.
It at least gives you time to grab the right width belt sometime.
BTW, I had this issue years ago . The belt was wearing away the hose just behind the radiator outlet so I put a small piece of aluminium under the hose clamp to protect it.
__________________
As youth departs, we trust wisdom shall suffice.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 04:52 AM   #12
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Raidiator hose gap

Should be 5/8. Synchro has it right. It will give you time to find the right belt. The 1/2 inch belt will slip as it does not fit the pulleys. Search "V belt" on google or try one from one of the suppliers.
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.