Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-01-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Steinar

Default A with hydraulics, mysterious parts?

Hi!
I'm new to the FordBarn, but I read a few interesting writings about a leaking rear main bearing on the model A. So I understand I might get in touch with a lot of skilled and experienced model A folks here.

I'm now doing a brake job on my '31 A. I've owned this car for 10 years now, but never had time for making it road worthy. So it's just been parked out in the barn. The car has once had its brakes converted into hydraulics. I ordered new 39-48 wheel cylinders from SoCal Speed shop, looks great! Today I took off the drums on my rear wheels, but I found parts there, that I had not expected to find. And I don't fully understand their purpose. As you can see from pictures, they are some kind if thin shims going outside the cone end of the axle, probably to make it thicker. As you can also see, one of'em are already teared apart and in need of replacement. If this is the way to go..?

My question: Are we here talking about original parts that really belongs there, or is this what I fear, some home made stuff to maybe compensate for wrong axles inside a too roomy axle-housing? With the drum off, and the mysterious parts taken away, I can make a little movement of the axle-end inside the axlehousing. Is this ok, or should it be absolutely compact?

Any answer would be appreciated!

Steinar

Last edited by Steinar; 05-01-2011 at 03:46 PM. Reason: Picture didn't show up...
Steinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:40 PM   #2
CWPASADENA

Default Re: A with hydraulics, mysterious parts?

Install 39-48 Hydraulics on the rear of a Model A requires you to space the drum out to keep it from interfeering with the backing plate.