Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-27-2013, 11:24 AM   #1
RonLey

Default Beginninig a 56 Ford Sunliner

Greetings. I am totally new to the Y-Block. My past is restoring Model A's and Model T's so this is a whole new world. My wife's Father purchased a 56 Ford Sunliner in 1956 and drove it up to 1984. It has always been garaged so it is in excellent condition for a car 57 years old. My wife remembers riding in it and going to her high school graduation in the car.

We were given the car about 5 years ago (to get it out of his garage). Her Dad passed away in February and now she would like to have it in driving condition. I am starting to put together a plan to make a good driver that she can be comfortable driving, fun to drive and be safe. The engine is the 292 and had the 2 bbl intake.

I have the engine and transmission pulled out and ready to find someone that can help pull the body from the frame (bracing etc). I have always restored to be original but am thinking of going a little different on this one to meet the wife's wishes. I am looking for some input from someone to see what I am getting into.

First I want to look at putting in a Ford C4 transmission, find a 1957 ECZ 9425-B single 4 barrel, front disk brakes and either a MSD or '57 distributor. I have been looking at the parts available from John Mummert's website to get some ideas. While it won't be factory original I'll have all the parts to put it back if desired. It seems that the 1956 Sunliner is not the most desired or prolific car to restore so I am having some issues finding a lot of information but still looking.

I would really appreciate information from the forum. I live in Tulsa, Ok so if there is someone close by that has started down this path I would love to talk you as well.

Thanks

Ron

RonLey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 12:22 PM   #2
ken ct
BANNED