Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-21-2018, 08:46 AM   #1
ryanheacox

Default Cold weather driving with or without thermostat?

Just finished buttoning up my Fordor after putting in a new engine and would like to put some miles on it before putting it away for the winter.

I have a 160 degree thermostat that goes in the upper radiator hose but took it out last year seeing no benefit during summer driving.

Now that it's cold (and going to get much colder) I imagine that the t-stat would become more beneficial. My only concern is that since it's located in the top of the upper hose (instead of the head like a modern car) and the air temps are very cold, it could take too long to open or not open at all thus causing more damage than running too cold.

I'm probably overthinking this. My gut says it'll probably be fine either way but I'd like to hear from people with firsthand experience. Thanks.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 09:11 AM   #2
jrelliott

Default Re: Cold weather driving with or without thermostat?

Run a thermostat ALL the time. Live in the mountains of Arizona. We probably do not get as cold as you in the winter, but the A warms up faster with the thermostat and runs better when warm.
jrelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 09:56 AM   #3
30 Closed Cab PU

If you have an upper coolant neck temp gauge, could partially block the radiator with a piece of cardboard.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 10:27 AM   #4
ryanheacox

I did think about using a piece of cardboard but I only have a motometer which is to say I really have nothing . I think I'll put in the thermostat and try it out.
Old 11-21-2018, 11:03 AM   #5
Jim/GA