Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-27-2016, 04:32 PM   #1
marzbar

Default Restoration Regrets/Learning Experiences

Okay here goes nothing - first post!

What I would like to ask the community is this: What do you wish you would have done differently on a task you paid someone else to do? It could be you wish you did it yourself, not at all, shopped it around more, different part, or whatever. Any experience you share will be appreciated.

I've been observing this forum for a while and I think the community is fascinating. The one thing you should know is that I'm a complete rookie and way in over my head at this point, but hope to be treading water soon. Everyone has a first day - today is mine.

I'm here is because I was able to inherit my Grandpa's 1949 F1. My uncle put a new engine, transmission, and some paint in it many moons ago and it's time for a full restoration so I'm just looking to gather a lot of information so I can make good decisions.
marzbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:24 PM   #2
slowforty

Default Re: Restoration Regrets/Learning Experiences

Rule No.1 Start with the Car in the BEST possible condition you can afford. It will save you a lot of Time and Aggravation
slowforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:25 PM   #3
cmbrucew

Welcome to the Ford Barn.
I have 2 1950 F1s. First, will the engine start and run? Does the radiator hold coolant?
Is there old gas in the tank? How are the tires, and brakes? Are the license tags current? Do the lights work?
After sorting these out, drive it a little, see how it fells. Then you will be best judge of what it needs. I like the color. Best advise I can give you is drive it.

Bruce
Old 07-27-2016, 05:27 PM   #4
TonyM

Try and assemble a good collection of reference material that pertains to your vehicle.
TonyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 05:31 PM   #5