Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-18-2014, 06:41 PM   #1
JackA

Default Alternator - 1 wire vs 3 wire

I found this discussion very interesting.

http://www.madelectrical.com/electri...hreewire.shtml
JackA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 08:14 PM   #2
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Default Re: Alternator - 1 wire vs 3 wire

a lot of whitewash in order to sell a $27.95 kit when in fact all you need is a $1.00 diode.
sorry I call'em like I see'em
Old 11-18-2014, 09:45 PM   #3
Jerry in Shasta

I've been using a three wire setup for 35+ years, before we knew much about single wire. Worked great all that time. The nice thing is it starts charging a low RPM.

JB
Jerry in Shasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 10:34 PM   #4
Y-Blockhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry in Shasta View Post
The nice thing is it starts charging a low RPM.

JB
That's the biggest advantage of the three wire. Another is you can use a charge indicator light (idiot light) with a three wire. I prefer a three wire alternators on my other cars.

The only reason my "A" is a one wire was on it when I bought it.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 10:38 PM   #5
WestCoast

Jerry, another good thing about a 3 wire alt other than it starts charging at idle, it will not keep the alt excited once the key is turned off, a one wire, will and has failed to break the connect between the alt and batt, which will cause a dead batt if left on all nite not a guess or hear say, it has happened to me and several other club members, it prompted us to send out a news letter warning about the problem with the one wire

Last edited by WestCoast; 11-18-2014 at 11:46 PM.
WestCoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 11:21 PM   #6
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)