Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-11-2020, 07:04 PM   #1
shew01

Default Could a bad tachometer make a Model A hard to start?

I’m still learning about the Model A ignition system (and tachometers, for that matter), and I’m wondering if a bad tachometer could make a Model A hard to start. Here is some background information.

Around the beginning of November, I noticed that my tachometer (https://www.westach.com/product-page/2ct32-6v), purchased new in May of 2020, was acting flakey from time to time. (From May to October, the tachometer worked fine.) While idling at a stop light, sometimes the needle would “float” high, but there was no corresponding change in the engine sound, and then the needle would eventually drift back to 500-700 RPM or so, again without any change in the engine sound, meaning that the RPM sounded constant, but the tachometer erroneously indicated a change in RPM. Also, while driving at what was likely to be 1500 to 1800 RPM, the needle would sometimes waft up to 2200 to 2500 RPM, with no perceptible change in the engine sound. Apparently, the tachometer sometimes has a mind of its own and displays whatever it wants to display. The unit appears to be under warranty; so, I need to call about it.

However, I’m curious. For the last couple of weeks, the car has been uncharacteristically hard to start. (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=289945) I’ve jumpered the junction box posts together to take the ammeter out of the equation as a potential problem. I’ve tried a number of different coils (two oil filled coils and one Ford script coil) and two condensers. I’ve thought I had the problem solved a number of times, but the car would continually “backslide” into hard starting over the course of a couple of days.

I have observed the following while working through this issue.