Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2020, 06:27 PM   #1
bosticjb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 16
Default Head Gasket

Got to pull my head getting water into cylinders , head been on for at least 5 years, any tricks to getting it off withot damage to head or me ?
bosticjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 07:07 PM   #2
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,269
Default Re: Head Gasket

First remove hood and rods,distributor, fan belt.Drain radiator, I place piece cardboard in front of radiator, to protect while removing head, remove nuts,, start trying to lift head up with water pump attached or removed. may need a little help with some putty knives. others will have their ideas they all work!
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com

Last edited by Gary WA; 08-05-2020 at 07:59 PM.
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-05-2020, 08:34 PM   #3
David R.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 347
Default Re: Head Gasket

Only been on 5 years? Should pop right off. I'm guessing the AA head I pulled had been on about 35 years. Took me a couple days.
David R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 10:02 PM   #4
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 2,003
Default Re: Head Gasket

Be very careful of shoving wedge shaped items between block and head . You can damage sealing capabilities, as well as bending a valve if the wedge goes in the right place to far.
One method, relative safe is unbolt the head, and crank the engine. That should pop it loose. Also the problem of removal is rust/sticky studs. Use some GOOD rust penatrate like aero kroil. Not WD 40.
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 10:14 PM   #5
1930-Pickup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: southern California
Posts: 725
Default Re: Head Gasket

To remove the head, has anyone ever loosened the head nuts just a little, and then started the engine? The head pops loose immediately.

I've never used this procedure, but I've read about people successfully doing it, even on other engines with cylinder head studs like the Model A.

For those who are unfamiliar with procedures like this, please be sure to drain the cooling system first.
1930-Pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 03:32 AM   #6
Johnny Nitro
Member
 
Johnny Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 54
Default Re: Head Gasket

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1930-Pickup View Post
To remove the head, has anyone ever loosened the head nuts just a little, and then started the engine? The head pops loose immediately.

I've never used this procedure, but I've read about people successfully doing it, even on other engines with cylinder head studs like the Model A.

For those who are unfamiliar with procedures like this, please be sure to drain the cooling system first.
Thatís my method. Works every time...for me
Johnny Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 05:27 AM   #7
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,498
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Head Gasket

Here is what we just did.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyyIks2Wad4
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 06:04 AM   #8
David R.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 347
Default Re: Head Gasket

Also the problem of removal is rust/sticky studs. Use some GOOD rust penatrate like aero kroil. Not WD 40.[/QUOTE]

Best penetrating oil Iíve found is mixing 1/2 transmission fluid and 1/2 acetone in pump oil can. You have to make it as you need it because the acetone tends to evaporate. The next best, even better than aero-kroil is a penetrating oil by seafoam but they are both pretty pricey and the homemade stuff works as good or better and I use lots of it.
David R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 08:16 AM   #9
Harpkatt
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Long Island
Posts: 81
Default Re: Head Gasket

Unbolting the head and turning the engine over is the technique I've heard most.
I recently heard of somebody shoving soft rope into the spark plug holes head before turning it over, Imagine that is for a really stuck. I'd tread lightly.
Harpkatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 09:48 AM   #10
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,331
Default Re: Head Gasket

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1930-Pickup View Post
To remove the head, has anyone ever loosened the head nuts just a little, and then started the engine? The head pops loose immediately.

I've read about people successfully doing it, even on other engines with cylinder head studs like the Model A.

For those who are unfamiliar with procedures like this, please be sure to drain the cooling system first.

Sometimes that method works, depends on the condition of the motor. If the head bolts are rusted to the head, if you have had a bad head gasket and coolant has rusted/corroded the head/block, if you have a lot of rust/corrosion on the outside of the motor - this method probably will not work.



The danger in the rope method is you can break internal motor parts, and if the bearings were good possibly damage the bearings.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 10:02 AM   #11
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,809
Default Re: Head Gasket

Quote:
First remove hood and rods
That is not necessary. It just makes it easier, going from side to side.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 04:09 AM   #12
Bruce of MN
Senior Member
 
Bruce of MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 789
Default Re: Head Gasket

These are very helpful:

https://www.brattons.com/engine-or-head-puller.html

Prices vary among the vendors.
Bruce of MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 09:28 PM   #13
bdtutton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Southwest Michigan
Posts: 100
Default Re: Head Gasket

I had rust around all my bolts through the head and it was almost impossible to move so I finally decided to buy a head puller and it was more than worth the money. It still was not easy, but I probably would have damaged the head without a proper head puller.
bdtutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:47 PM   #14
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 2,003
Talking Re: Head Gasket

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdtutton View Post
I had rust around all my bolts through the head and it was almost impossible to move so I finally decided to buy a head puller and it was more than worth the money. It still was not easy, but I probably would have damaged the head without a proper head puller.
Things always work easier and usually with a better outcome when using the right tool.
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 09:28 AM   #15
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,331
Default Re: Head Gasket

There is an alternative type head puller that reportedly works well on really stubborn heads. Typically homemade. Instead of using something that pulls on the head from above, it uses bolts against the head studs.



Here is an example, start with the 1st post in the thread
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...te+head+puller
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.