Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 01:41 PM   #1
JtownJoe
Senior Member
 
JtownJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 337
Default Horn Wiring

I just received my New Wiring Harness for 30' Tudor & all my old wiring was any color anywhere, I want to be sure, does the Solid Yellow horn wire go to the contact soldered to the insulated plate inside the horn & Blue & Yellow wire to the grounded terminal? I have wiring diagrams from a few sources but they just show the wires running into the horn but not specified. Thanx!
JtownJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:21 PM   #2
Gary Gregory
Senior Member
 
Gary Gregory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryville,Tn
Posts: 289
Default Re: Horn Wiring

I'd like to know this also.
Gary Gregory is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-25-2012, 04:05 PM   #3
Rusty Homestead Fl
Senior Member
 
Rusty Homestead Fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Homestead, Fl
Posts: 351
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Rusty Homestead Fl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:15 PM   #4
jan bogert
Senior Member
 
jan bogert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: whitehall pa.
Posts: 439
Default Re: Horn Wiring

i was just looking in Les Andrews book vol.1, and i don't think that it matters. its not labeled in the horn is it i think i just loosened the screw and pushed them in the contacts and retightened the screw. JAN. the horn button when pushed just completes the circut.
jan bogert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:29 PM   #5
Jerry Wilhelm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 20
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Neither contact in the horn should be grounded on a original horn. It is grounded thru the horn button connection ( blue and yellow wire).
Jerry Wilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:30 PM   #6
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Neither terminal under the horn cover should be grounded. The power wire can go to either terminal and the horn button wire can go the the other terminal.

The horn body does not need or use a ground, as the horn button grounds the horn circuit.

Jerry types faster!
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:38 PM   #7
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Here is one with the wire colors.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:45 PM   #8
ctlikon0712
Senior Member
 
ctlikon0712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Horn Wiring

I had an instance where I disconnected my horn and when I reconnected it, it didn't work. I switched the wires and presto, Ahooga! I think the polarity matters as far a direction the motor spins and the ratchet function that makes the noise..... thoughts?
ctlikon0712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:02 PM   #9
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,480
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctlikon0712 View Post
I had an instance where I disconnected my horn and when I reconnected it, it didn't work. I switched the wires and presto, Ahooga! I think the polarity matters as far a direction the motor spins and the ratchet function that makes the noise..... thoughts?
The motor is series wound, so when you change the field polarity you also change the armature polarity, and the motor still spins the same direction.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:32 PM   #10
JtownJoe
Senior Member
 
JtownJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 337
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Thanx for the help since it doesn't seem to matter I'll just connect the solid yellow to the insulated connection & let the blue/yellow be grounded thru the horn button. It's amazing how many wires the former owners had just cut off & some were still hot at the other end, glad i just went with the whole new harness, I just hope the conact plate at the bottom of the spider switch all works OK, I'm sure it's a repo. Thanx to all again.
JtownJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:45 PM   #11
Ed in Maine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 727
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Mike V. Is that colored schematic available on a 11x22 in. drawing? It would make a great wall hanging in my garage. I might even fold it up and throw it under the floor mat for trouble shooting on the road. Ed
Ed in Maine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:31 AM   #12
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Horn Wiring

It's a pretty big drawing but I don't know the actual size. It's at least 11x17.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:12 PM   #13
BufordTJustice
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Hello, I have what looks to be a model A style horn that has been restored and powder coated. It looks like a spartan but there is no tag. Might be replica but the inside looks old.

Anyway, I want to install it in my 2013 car (sorry, not a ford). I was trying to decide if I run it on 12v battery or get a converter to step it down to 6v.

First I ran it on 12v and it gave a great loud sound. But I want to try it at 6v so I ordered a converter that arrives in a couple days. I hope at 6v it gives a better natural sound. I'll let you know how it works out.

Also, does it matter which terminal I connect + or - wire to? No problem with reverse polarity? My horn didn't have wires when I acquired it so I wired it with 14 gauge.
BufordTJustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 09:16 AM   #14
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 716
Default Re: Horn Wiring

The horns of the time were probably all series wound as Tom W says above, and polarity shouldn't matter. Your converter should be capable of at least 6 amps output, but a smaller one would probably work ok for a few honks at a time. There should also be a screw for tone adjustment. 18 gauge is sufficient, larger is ok.

(So what it's an 8-year-old thread. Still on-topic. No biggie.)
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 01:31 PM   #15
BufordTJustice
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Thank you @badpuppy. Well, the converter to 6v didn't produce any sound whatsoever.

I used this https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CG...b_b_asin_title

But I see now that it is only 3 amp output max :-) so I guess I need to find another one that can output at least 6 amps, correct?
BufordTJustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 10:31 PM   #16
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by BufordTJustice View Post
Thank you @badpuppy. Well, the converter to 6v didn't produce any sound whatsoever.

I used this https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CG...b_b_asin_title

But I see now that it is only 3 amp output max :-) so I guess I need to find another one that can output at least 6 amps, correct?

Go to a Model A vendor close to you (to save shipping) and look up "horn resistor".


Here is one from Mikes Afordable.


https://www.mikes-afordable.com/product/A13820B.html
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:14 AM   #17
BufordTJustice
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Thank you @Mike, I'll look for one nearby and thanks for the link as well!
BufordTJustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.