Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
pj the dj

Default Ammeter question

I'm new to the barn and need some information. How many amps should the ammeter show when the car is at idle? Also, how many amps with the car at idle and the headlights on? The generator is a new re-build from a vendor. I'm also getting a "tinny" sound from the water pump. It's leakless that's about a year old. Should I replace it or re-build? Lastly, I'm getting a backfire when I let off the gas while coming to a stop. I eliminated the condenser because it's a modern point and condenser distributor that's 2 weeks old. Any help is appreciated.
pj the dj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:51 PM   #2
mralternator
BANNED

Send a message via Yahoo to mralternator
Default Re: Ammeter question

Normal with an alternator is about 10 or less after start up, then slowly lowers to about 2-3 then 0, idle with lights on should still be in plus side as the amperage covers the lights and still extra to keep battery charged
mralternator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 08:48 PM   #3
Tom Wesenberg

If you have a stock generator with no electronic voltage regulator then I'd set the ammeter at 2 to 3 amps for daytime driving, and set it at about 10 amps for night driving. You set it at 10 amps with the lights off, then depending on how many amps the lights draw the ammeter will drop accordingly. Most people don't readjust the third brush for night and day driving, so it's best to install an EVR and have the benefits of full regulation.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:53 AM   #4
Patrick L.