Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-28-2013, 02:27 PM   #1
pj the dj

Default carb cleaner

Hi i'm new to the barn and need advise. Have '30 coupe and it just started to run crappy. I bought a bottle of "guaranteed to pass" to pour in the gas tank and it says it's used to clean valves and injectors. But, i'm afraid to pour it in. Should I not do it? What would clean the carb short of me taking it apart? I never had a problem until I followed some ones advice and took the air maze off. Thanks for any advice.
pj the dj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:44 PM   #2
markyb

Default Re: carb cleaner

I'm new to Model A's, but from what I've read, some carbs have modified jets or inlets to compensate for the reduced air flow of air filters. Removing the filter probably created yor problem, not a dirty carb
markyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:56 PM   #3
Brentwood Bob

Go thru some diagnostics. First, open the plug on the bottom of the carb,and see if you have a good flow of gas. If that is obstructed then unhook the gas line at the carb and see if you have good flow. I suspect dirt in the gas. Start there. Don't use the fixall, pour in the tank stuff.
Good time to learn how to clean the jets.
Bob
Brentwood Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 04:52 PM   #4
ctvpa

There are several fuel filters in the Model A. One in the gas tank, one in the fuel line, and one in the carb. Be sure they are all clean.
Please don't put anything in the tank.
Many use marvel mystery oil in the gas (controversial as to if it does anything), but it will not correct this problem.