Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2021, 03:17 PM   #1
jkflathead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 601
Default Stupid Starting Question

I went to start my '50 8ba and it would not make a sound when I pushed the starter button. Fresh battery with lots of juice. I cleaned and tightened relay points of contact and the battery posts. I switched out the starter button with no luck but at one point it would crank when the switch grounded to the dash. It would stop cranking when I pushed the button. None of the wiring was touched since last summer when i was driving it. All new wiring in original specs. I'm sure it's simple but I'm stumped. Thanks.
jkflathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 03:57 PM   #2
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 5,478
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

See if it will crank by touching the wire going to the switch/starter button -- to ground
Also try grounding the third small connection on the solenoid.
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-16-2021, 09:31 PM   #3
mercguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

I think you answered your own question. Your switch worked when it grounded to the dash. Need to clean the hole where the starter button enters the dash.
You have a poor ground. Poor connections are almost always the problem.
Good luck.
mercguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 07:32 AM   #4
jkflathead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 601
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

It was a bad starter button. I had three of them, all junk. I finally looked on my parts shelf and found a new, repro, in the plastic bag. Fired right up and I had a great 80 mile drive. Thanks.
jkflathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 07:44 AM   #5
marko39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: harpursville ny
Posts: 623
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

The repro starter button i have stuck in the second time i pushed it. had to quickly pull a batt. cable. got a nors. and it works fine.
marko39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 07:58 AM   #6
fortyonerag
Senior Member
 
fortyonerag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 389
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Yep, I have seen a few dodgy 'new' starter buttons. Glad you're rolling.
fortyonerag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 11:46 AM   #7
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 1,273
Default Re: Stupid Starting Question

Ditto on repo button crap. Fought with mine for a year then paid a stupid price for a good used original. Well worth the investment.
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.