Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-19-2020, 05:24 PM   #1
qmdv

Default AutoLite 216's in Offy heads

Just got a recent rebuild running. 59 AB block 3 5/16 by 4" stroke. Offy 375 heads, mild cam of unknown origin. Using AutoLite 216's cus I had them. It misses now and then, pulled plugs to find a bit of carbon. Also I am thinking that a longer reach plug would be better. Not sure how smart it is to have spark plug hole threads exposed in the combustion chamber.
qmdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 05:38 PM   #2
19Fordy

Default Re: AutoLite 216's in Offy heads

I am no expert but, I think having plugs where the firing tip is inside the threaded recess results in fouling. Try a plug with a longer reach. Make sure plug doesn't hit the piston.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 05:52 PM   #3
tubman

There were a couple of discussions, both here and on the H.A.M.B. about he proper length plugs for Offenhauser heads. The general conclusion was that they don't seem to be designed for any particular length plug, and that for optimum use, spacers need to be used. Here's a link to one thread on the H.A.M.B. : https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/...#post-13317505. (It's interesting that the H.A.M.B. thread ends up pointing back here to "The Barn".)

Note that it ends with "flatjack" (who really knows his stuff) saying that the equivalent of a Champion "N" series needs to be used with a .21 spacer.

In any event, stock 7/16" reach plugs are not correct for use with Offenhauser (and most other aftermarket) heads.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 05:53 PM   #4
tubman

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Fordy View Post
I am no expert but, I think having plugs where the firing tip is inside the threaded recess results in fouling. Try a plug with a longer reach. Make sure plug doesn't hit the piston.