Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-19-2020, 10:46 AM   #1
russcc

Default 7/16-14 thread chaser

Did a search on the forum here and found a set of thread chasers for reasonable money. In all my years with cars and as a machinist, I only needed one once for a spark plug hole, and that was MM. So I only need a 7/16-14. I know I can make one, but would prefer to buy it. Any sources a for single thread chaser tap. Have done an internet search and all the comes is regular taps. Thank you Fordbarners
russcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 11:06 AM   #2
19Fordy

Default Re: 7/16-14 thread chaser

Here's a good deal.
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/s...yABEgJLAvD_BwE
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 11:08 AM   #3
KiWinUS

Mac tools. I have a Mac tool thread restoration kit & it is in kit. You can purchase it from them individual.
Cheers
Tony
KiWinUS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 11:15 AM   #4
DavidG

USA-made UNC kits including 7/16-14 on Amazon for $15.50.
DavidG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:52 PM   #5
Kube

McMaster-Carr
Old 07-19-2020, 06:00 PM   #6
JSeery
Member Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by russcc View Post
Did a search on the forum here and found a set of thread chasers for reasonable money. In all my years with cars and as a machinist, I only needed one once for a spark plug hole, and that was MM. So I only need a 7/16-14. I know I can make one, but would prefer to buy it. Any sources a for single thread chaser tap. Have done an internet search and all the comes is regular taps. Thank you Fordbarners
I use them a lot, all different sizes, SAE & Metric. They are very handy to have. If you always work with new stuff, guess you might not need them, but clean/chase all of the bolt holes on any of the blocks I work on.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 08:34 PM   #7
Pete