Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2020, 12:14 PM   #1
steve fritz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: onalaska , wisconsin
Posts: 505
Default 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Putting my 55 Ford Ranch Wagon project back together and ran accross a little problem , maybe somebody can check their Ford and give me the answer. On the data plate , there are two sets of predrilled holes to attach the plate to the body. ( drivers side door body below windshield side.) One set results in the data plate being mounted horizontal to the ground. The other set results in the data plate being at about a 35 degree angle to the ground. Which would be the original and correct mounting holes???
Probably should have just taped off the plate rather than removing it. Well that was better than two years ago , and I just have plain forgotten which way it was mounted. Thanks in advance for getting me straightened out on this.
Steve
steve fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 12:26 PM   #2
56sedandelivery
Senior Member
 
56sedandelivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 274
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Pic of my 56, think they are he same. Have cleaned it up since pic taken. lol
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN0002a.jpg (81.8 KB, 36 views)
56sedandelivery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-05-2020, 01:08 PM   #3
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Horizontal, not at an angle.

Original style 'factory' replacement rivets are available from several sources.
Example, https://www.classictbird.com/Data-Pl...oductinfo/800/
dmsfrr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 01:15 PM   #4
steve fritz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: onalaska , wisconsin
Posts: 505
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Thanks Guys....horizontal it is!
steve fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 06:13 PM   #5
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,709
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfrr View Post
Horizontal, not at an angle.

Original style 'factory' replacement rivets are available from several sources.
Example, https://www.classictbird.com/Data-Pl...oductinfo/800/
what kind of tool is used to install those rivets?
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 07:33 PM   #6
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40cpe View Post
what kind of tool is used to install those rivets?
A hand-held flat tipped punch or wooden dowel about 3/16 ?
I've got a data plate to reinstall but the car isn't painted yet.
dmsfrr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 07:51 PM   #7
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,709
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Looking at post # 2 photo, it appears that the flanged end of the rivet will be on the outside when installed and a tool has to pull the spherical portion out to expand and catch the body. I could be wrong.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg datatagrivet.jpg (319.8 KB, 10 views)
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2020, 08:04 PM   #8
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40cpe View Post
Looking at post # 2 photo, it appears that the flanged end of the rivet will be on the outside when installed and a tool has to pull the spherical portion out to expand and catch the body. I could be wrong.
Yes the flange is to the outside to hold the data plate on. I believe you insert the rivet into the data plate and door post holes (or firewall for T-Birds) then when it's in position push or tap in the center dome, which expands the back side of the rivet, fastening it in place.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg '56 Ford data plate.jpg (65.3 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by dmsfrr; 12-05-2020 at 08:15 PM. Reason: add photo
dmsfrr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 10:19 AM   #9
flatrod
Senior Member
 
flatrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 228
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

I would suggest to have extra rivets on hand. They are very soft and can push through very easy.
flatrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 08:41 AM   #10
Ford blue blood
Senior Member
 
Ford blue blood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 686
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Of the several I have rebuilt I found the "rivets" appeared to have been set with a center punch type of tool. All four cars have a dimple in the middle of the dome. As a result I have used a center punch to set the rivets. As stated go easy, they are softer then butter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100Edsel 009.jpg (39.1 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Bill, certified Ford nut.

2016 F-150
2016 Focus
08 Shelby GT500
65 T-Bird Special Landau
58 Edsel Pacer
57 Ford Retractable (For sale)
57 Ford Ranchero
36 Chevy, 351C/FMX, 8", Mustang II
Ford blue blood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 09:41 AM   #11
steve fritz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: onalaska , wisconsin
Posts: 505
Default Re: 55 Ford Data Plate mounting???

Thanks ....I ordered those rivits today. I'll let you know how they work.
steve
steve fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.