Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2020, 09:54 PM   #1
srosa707
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4
Default No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Hey fellas. So I've taken a 10+ year hiatus on my coupe '29 project due to LIFE and am just now getting back on it. I had a 59AB that ran good but had 0-2lbs of oil pressure at stop lights. I parked it, built an old chopper, life happened, and now here we are. Instead of dropping coin on a build, I picked up an 8BA from a buddy that had been sitting in his garage for 15 years. Long story short, I swapped water pumps, pulley, generator (12V), checked valves and lifters for movement, and everything looked good. Got it installed and just dropped in a Chevy converted distributor and new coil from Charlie in NY and finally got it fired up today (WOOHOO!)! I noticed the oil gauge didn't budge so I shut it off after about 15 seconds or so. Checked the oil (good), rechecked all lines to make sure I wasn't spraying oil anywhere and they were all good too. Fired it back up for a couple of seconds and still nothing so I shut it down. Also, this motor was pretty sludgy when I took it apart so maybe the oil pump is gummed up?

Now, is there any way to test the pump with the motor still in the car? If not, can I pull the pump with the motor still in the car by dropping the pan? Really hoping to not have to pull everything again to swap it. Not sure If I have to access the idler pulley in front of the pressure plate. Any advice is greatly appreciated!
srosa707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:21 PM   #2
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 214
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

You can pull the pump by dropping the pan. Could have a sludge blocked screen or possibly not turning due to a problem with the drive gears you mentioned,but worth dropping the pan first.
No way to test the pump in the car.
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-06-2020, 11:13 PM   #3
outlaw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eagle River,Alaska
Posts: 303
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

I would hook up a known good mechanical gauge first & see if that reads any pressure. Your factory gauge might be bad. If you have a electric sender, that might be bad, or if your stock gauge is mechanical have you checked to see if the tubing is plugged or has gotten pinched?
outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 03:57 AM   #4
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 6,678
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

I had a '51 Mercury engine in storage for at least 20 years. When I finally pulled it out and fired it, it took at least 30 seconds for it to build any oil pressure (this was in 10 second increments with a lot of checking in between). It seemed like an eternity, but on the third or fourth start-up, it finally came up and ran at 55 psi. I think that if they are stored that long, the lose their prime. In retrospect, if I had to do it again, I'd pull the pan and pack the pump like a fresh build.

It's been on the road for about 3 years now with no ill effects.

Last edited by tubman; 09-07-2020 at 05:04 AM.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 04:53 AM   #5
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

How about pulling the spark plugs and just crank the motor over?
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 05:59 AM   #6
flatford8
Senior Member
 
flatford8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lyman,ME.
Posts: 1,710
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
There’s threads on here about building a pressurizing fixture to pressurize the system. I’d do what has been mentioned and crank it with plugs out a couple times. But, I still think I’d pull the pan for piece of mind. If you you know the motor is sludgy, you’ll probably find plenty there......Mark
__________________
I'm thinkin' about crankin'
My ragged ol' truck up
and haulin' myself into town.
Billy Joe Shaver
flatford8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 09:30 AM   #7
alanwoodieman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: upstate SC
Posts: 2,362
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

pour some oil down into the oil pump by removing the oil sender or the filter line
alanwoodieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 09:49 AM   #8
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,080
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

I wouldn't start it again until you figure it out. As suggested, pull the plugs and spin it with the starter.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 10:49 AM   #9
srosa707
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

So I should have mentioned a few things. This motor had the electric sender and I swapped it for the mechanical unit on my previous motor that worked years ago. Ill probably stop by the parts store and grab another gauge just to be sure its not the gauge. Also, prior to starting it a few months ago, I rigged up a pressure system to feed oil back through the sender (see pic) that I pushed about 4 quarts of oil through. I assumed this would have primed it but if its sludged up maybe its not working right anyways.

And since I know we are all visual folks, I included a pic of the coupe, too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3476.JPG (123.7 KB, 82 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3539.JPG (251.0 KB, 290 views)
srosa707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 11:17 AM   #10
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,244
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

take out the sender,take out sparkplugs, crank engine, see of it pumps oil out
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 01:24 PM   #11
petehoovie
Senior Member
 
petehoovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,951
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Quote:
Originally Posted by srosa707 View Post
So I should have mentioned a few things. This motor had the electric sender and I swapped it for the mechanical unit on my previous motor that worked years ago. Ill probably stop by the parts store and grab another gauge just to be sure its not the gauge. Also, prior to starting it a few months ago, I rigged up a pressure system to feed oil back through the sender (see pic) that I pushed about 4 quarts of oil through. I assumed this would have primed it but if its sludged up maybe its not working right anyways.

And since I know we are all visual folks, I included a pic of the coupe, too.
__________________
The only thing nice about being imperfect is the joy it brings to others....

"Silver rings, your butt! Them's washers!"
"We shot our way out of that town for a dollar's worth of steel holes." - from 'The Wild Bunch' - 1969

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NReUd2_0u0
petehoovie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 03:02 PM   #12
hotrodart
Senior Member
 
hotrodart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shenandoah Valley Virginia
Posts: 144
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Good lesson in this thread....I pull apart every engine.....new crates as well as previously owned/run. That's the only way to know what you have. There are usually a few surprises in every one.....like loose rod bolts, bad clearances, poor quality "rebuild", etc. and can be fixed before installation.....time well spent.....eliminates lots of headaches.....
hotrodart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 02:28 AM   #13
69a
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

You need to open the oil line by removing the pressure gauge. The pump is cavating because the pickup tube is empty. Open up the oil line and crank it over until you get enough oil out to get the sump oil up to the pump.
69a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 11:41 AM   #14
Aarongriffey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hayward,CA
Posts: 397
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

I’ve had that happen a few times.
Take out the spark plugs, add six more quarts of oil to the crankcase, remove the sending unit, pour oil down the galley where the sending unit came out of, crank it over with the starter until oil comes out where the sending unit goes, drain the excess oil out.
I now make sure the oil pump is primed well before installing it.
Fill the ports on the top of the pump with oil and turn the pump drive by hand to see it actually pump oil out the top.
Aarongriffey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 07:44 PM   #15
srosa707
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Got it pumping! Like everyone suggested, I pulled the plugs and cranked it over but didn't get any pressure. So I removed the fitting in the back of the block and fed about 3/4 of a quart into the pump. Gave it a few cranks and it started pumping! Got everything put back together and its working great! Just wanted to say thanks fellas!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4638.jpg (32.8 KB, 41 views)
srosa707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 07:49 PM   #16
flatford8
Senior Member
 
flatford8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lyman,ME.
Posts: 1,710
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Nice!!!!!.......I like that coupe!!!!.......good for you!!!.....Mark
__________________
I'm thinkin' about crankin'
My ragged ol' truck up
and haulin' myself into town.
Billy Joe Shaver
flatford8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 07:54 PM   #17
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 6,678
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Good to hear it all worked out. There are some anxious moments waiting for the pressure to build; seconds seem to turn to minutes.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 09:21 PM   #18
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,080
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Way to go!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 10:53 PM   #19
GB SISSON
Senior Member
 
GB SISSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orcas Island Washington
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Been there myself! Great job by you and all the experts that chimed in to help the situation!
__________________
'47 1/2 ton pickup next project, '47 one ton panel 99% stock nearing completion, '47 2 ton with 8ba and 9' script stakebed, '46 1/2 ton woodie project,'59 F350 9' flareside pickup with cummins 6at. 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 11:39 PM   #20
srosa707
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: No Oil Pressure in 8BA

Thanks guys! Now that I know the motor is a runner I can work on the nick-nack stuff that always seems to pop up on a car thats been sitting. Just in time for spring LOL
srosa707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.