Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-05-2012, 09:30 PM   #1
Tulsa

Default 30 Starting... No fuel to cylinders, just carb

Ok, I am by no means a pro Model A owner. Not even close. I have done the research to see what needs to be cleaned and checked before start up. I have spark, compression, power, gas to carb (carb was just inspected and cleaned of all gunk) I do not seem to get gas past carb. the inlet on carb is wet. The cylinders are not wet at all.

What could the problem be?

Picture of car for reference...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0319.jpg (59.3 KB, 58 views)
Tulsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:02 PM   #2
J Franklin

Default Re: 30 Starting... No fuel to cylinders, just carb

Try a shot of starting fluid and see if it will start. If the valves aren't working right the cyls. can't pull gas vapor
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:23 PM   #3
Tulsa

We had a small amount before we cleaned carb, but couldnt get good spray in it due to angle. It puffed a few times and blew some smoke once, but we ran out of starter fluid.
Old 09-05-2012, 11:14 PM   #4
700rpm

Check your line going into the carb. If the ferrule is too far from the end of the tube, the tube can close up against the filter screen and stop the flow of gas. When you remove the line it will look like gas is getting to the carb, and it is, but it isn't getting past the filter. Very common problem.

As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:16 AM   #5
Tulsa

Gas gets to carb. When starting and choked I can feel it in the inlet of carb.
Old 09-06-2012, 08:07 AM   #6
Keith True