Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-14-2014, 08:03 PM   #1
lecktrix

Default Engine Stand... I dont see how

Hello all... Im new to the flathead world, and im about to start a rebuild. I know the issue has been discussed tons of times on here... but what should I do... I have seen the exhaust port stands and the front and rear stands. I have two 1948 V8's that I need to tear down. I have done tons of modern motors and I hang them from the bellhousing... I just noticed that part of the bellhousing is the oil pan..
Im definately not comfortable hanging this motor on the top of the bellhousing, and im definately not happy hanging my motor from the exhaust ports...

Am I crazy, or is it safe to suspend a complete motor from the exhaust ports??
lecktrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:10 PM   #2
Fredb_

Default Re: Engine Stand... I dont see how

I made a bracket for the exhaust mount and it worked fine for me on a couple different engines.
Fred
Fredb_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:13 PM   #3
Shadetree

I felt the same way but it worked fine. I believe I bought my exhaust port mount from Red's headers. Everyone says absolutely not to use the bell housing as it could break, destroying your block.
Old 07-14-2014, 08:17 PM   #4
35fordtn

Here is the link to one I used bought off ebay and worked great. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Flathead-For...c73387&vxp=mtr
35fordtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:20 PM   #5
tiquer

Do not hang the motor by the bell houseing alone I have seen a flat motor that was destroyed doing that. It broke a third of the bell houseing away.
tiquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:21 PM   #6
Binx

I find it easier to tear them apart on a sheet of plywood on the floor then build them up on a stand.

Lonnie
Binx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 08:28 PM   #7
deuce_roadster