Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-20-2021, 10:39 PM   #1
roll of the dices

Default Roadster Deluxe top originality questions?

Hi Everyone,

Hope all the fathers are having a great Father's day.
This is weekend I bought a deluxe top for my '30 Roadster. I willll mostly be using it for templates and will be stitching and installing my own top. First time ever doing both, so we'll see how it turns out.

As I am studying the top, the panels, and how it was put together a few interesting things jump at me and wondering if someone can give me some insight as to what I am looking at. Is this the way it was done originally?

Here it goes...

All the tacks look original, no staples, and there are no other holes on the wood bows, so I assume it hasn't been re-covered.
When I look at the top pads, they look completely different than what I see supplied by vendors today. I see a piece canvas which seems to be re-inforced with a look-like jute material, sorry don't know what is called.
There are no notches on the wood bows for these pads to lay flat, as the videos I have watched indicate to do.
I see that now days they use a pad that is folded on both sides and top stitched with padding material in between.

The wood bows, are wrapped in a fabric tape like material, almost like an old hockey stick. The bands that hold the rear window opened, are nailed first, and then wrapped around with this tape. The taping is done from top iron to top iron only. The center tape is same color as top (tan) and the side is dark (black)
Nowadays, I don't see the '30-'31 wood bows wrapped. I see '28-'29 are covered.

The windshield flap is a flat piece of canvas, wide enough to created a loop on top of the header, when snap to the windshield. New kits look like they have a loop of canvas along the windshield top already sawn as part of it. Same purpose, I assume, different style.