Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2021, 09:29 PM   #1
Lefthander1930
Senior Member
 
Lefthander1930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Roseville Ca.
Posts: 110
Default Battery Move

Got tired of the hassle to get to the battery. So I seen on this site or another a remedy...So I went for it. I really like the idea and everything came out good! The hood clears.

I'm going to install a disconnect switch which cable +/- for the disconnect?

E84D9B84-ADA0-4FF4-8555-91C450AB26D9.jpg

F60CE279-AA10-40F8-AC96-74273FEE28DD.jpg

426658B0-F902-4D2F-8222-AD8E45DB0F32.jpg
Lefthander1930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 09:35 PM   #2
JoeCB
Senior Member
 
JoeCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Farmington MI
Posts: 129
Default Re: Battery Move

I think that that was a pretty common change back in the day... I suspect that my 31 Coupe had that "improvement" at some point in it's life as there is a suspicious area of corrosion pitting it that area of the firewall.

Joe
JoeCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-14-2021, 09:47 PM   #3
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: Battery Move

I always use the ground cable for the disconnect. My reasoning is similar to removing the battery cables with no disconnect. You remove the ground first so if your wrench slips while removing the hot cable and touches ground you won't create an arch between the wrench and the ground. I'm sure others will offer different opinions.
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 09:57 PM   #4
daren007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saint Cloud Mn
Posts: 639
Default Re: Battery Move

Never had a reason to relocate the battery.
daren007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 09:59 PM   #5
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,696
Default Re: Battery Move

I have a sheet metal box I made specially to go there. It holds a few tools, distributor and water pump. All close and handy and out of the way.
__________________
I don't always go the extra mile,
but when I do it's because I've missed my exit.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 10:02 PM   #6
CWPASADENA
Senior Member
 
CWPASADENA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PASADENA, CA
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Battery Move

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I always use the ground cable for the disconnect. My reasoning is similar to removing the battery cables with no disconnect. You remove the ground first so if your wrench slips while removing the hot cable and touches ground you won't create an arch between the wrench and the ground. I'm sure others will offer different opinions.

I agree,

From a safety standpoint, always put the disconnect switch on the ground side.

Chris W.
CWPASADENA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 10:16 PM   #7
CWPASADENA
Senior Member
 
CWPASADENA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PASADENA, CA
Posts: 1,650
Default Re: Battery Move

I always use the ground cable for the disconnect. My reasoning is similar to removing the battery cables with no disconnect. You remove the ground first so if your wrench slips while removing the hot cable and touches ground you won't create an arch between the wrench and the ground. I'm sure others will offer different opinions.

I agree,

From a safety standpoint, always put the disconnect switch on the ground side.

Chris W.
CWPASADENA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 10:27 PM   #8
McMimmcs
Senior Member
 
McMimmcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,476
Default Re: Battery Move

although I acknowledge your right to change, I personally want to keep my A as original as possible!
McMimmcs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 11:07 PM   #9
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,472
Default Re: Battery Move

i bought a optima battery,didn't look at it or touch it for 16 years hidden unbder the floor is a good place for it
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 05:20 AM   #10
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 1,212
Default Re: Battery Move

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
I have a sheet metal box I made specially to go there. It holds a few tools, distributor and water pump. All close and handy and out of the way.

Thatís an interesting idea. Would you mind posting a picture?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 06:33 AM   #11
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,696
Default Re: Battery Move

Quote:
Originally Posted by shew01 View Post
Thatís an interesting idea. Would you mind posting a picture?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'll see what I can do. Anything electronic and I are not on speaking terms!
__________________
I don't always go the extra mile,
but when I do it's because I've missed my exit.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 06:59 AM   #12
Chris in WNC
Senior Member
 
Chris in WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pineville NC
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Battery Move

battery needs removal so seldom that it would not be worth it to me to have it very much in the way on the firewall.
previous owner installed a disconnect switch which I like very much.
__________________
1931 slant windshield Town Sedan
Chris in WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 07:56 AM   #13
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 2,303
Default Re: Battery Move

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefthander1930 View Post
Got tired of the hassle to get to the battery. So I seen on this site or another a remedy...So I went for it. I really like the idea and everything came out good! The hood clears.

I'm going to install a disconnect switch which cable +/- for the disconnect?

Attachment 461202

Attachment 461203

Attachment 461204
There's a lot of weight hanging, in the second picture the flat metal bend IMHO needs another bolt ? I've seen cars before on firewalls, my grandpa traded in an A and as he drove into the building his battery fell down from under the floor
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 08:38 AM   #14
GeneBob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Denver Area
Posts: 105
Default Re: Battery Move

I understand the desire to get to the battery more easily as you need to check the level of the acid now and then. I think I will switch to an Optima or other battery that does not need to be checked instead of moving the battery though. Nice installation though.
I would also like to see the pictures of the tool box on the firewall.
GeneBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 10:23 AM   #15
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 4,546
Default Re: Battery Move

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris in WNC View Post
Battery needs removal so seldom that it would not be worth it to me to have it very much in the way on the firewall.
I have a split floorboard that allows you to access the battery without removing the whole floor. I like keeping my car original looking as much as possible.

I agree with Chris, moving the battery to the firewall would be "very much in the way" and I am not a fan of the look.




__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1Ę worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51ufACHJMfU

Last edited by Y-Blockhead; 04-15-2021 at 10:36 AM.
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.