Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-17-2020, 09:21 AM   #1
Mart

Default Flathead Friday. Bust out the Buma! And the BFH! Boring for liners..

I finally get the Crusty flathead block set up and in a position to start boring for liners. Four of the bores were so badly deteriorated a liner (sleeve) is the only viable repair. The basis of this video is the third one I did, as I was establishing methods and processes that were working. I am a novice and am self taught. Experts will probably cringe at me muddling my way through, with just helpful advice from forums to steer me. I show some details of the tool setting and measuring. I show the third liner going in but also cut in the other three going in as well. Presented purely for entertainment rather than a how to please find my latest offering:

https://youtu.be/AtBJmnhoYqA

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 10:44 AM   #2
5851a

Default Re: Flathead Friday. Bust out the Buma! And the BFH! Boring for liners..

Interesting, that's.
5851a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 11:21 AM   #3
hook00pad

Default Re: Flathead Friday. Bust out the Buma! And the BFH! Boring for liners..

Good Job, Mart!

Al Hook
hook00pad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 03:01 PM   #4
done4

Send a message via Yahoo to done4

Interesting to watch, thank you. Question, how long did you keep the sleeves in the freezer?
Old 01-17-2020, 03:22 PM   #5
19Fordy

Mart: Thanks so much for taking the time and effort to share your knowledge and skill doing things like "back in the day" when those type machines were the cutting edge. I remember I had a block bored to 3.375 in 1967 and it cost $5 per hole. No sleeves.
Keep going.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 04:39 PM   #6
V8COOPMAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Fordy View Post