Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-06-2016, 09:59 PM   #1
flathead4dr

Default 1955 F100 door hinge adjustment

I am trying to reinstall the doors after a paint job and not having much luck getting them adjusted.....not even close ! And no, the hinges are not marked as per location. Does someone out there have some good advise for me? I'm getting real frustrated. I have a lot of mechanical experience but this thing has really got me baffled.

I know it may take a lot of talking, so if you don't mind you can give me a call @ 509-750-0098. If this is not a free call for you, I would be more than happy to call you right back on my dime.

Thanks, Bill
Old 01-07-2016, 09:58 AM   #2
wellcraft17

Default Re: 1955 F100 door hinge adjustment

I've always used a 2x4 and a roll around floor jack on my 56 F100 with the running boards off. Place the wood under the bottom edge of the door, jack it in place, get into the cab and tighten the mounting bolts. This works best only if the hinges are not worn out.
wellcraft17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 10:16 AM   #3
Ford blue blood

You would be suprised how flexible the cab is. First get the door aligned to the hinge side. Get a nice even fit down the entire gap. Next close the door as close to latching as you can. If it looks like it has sagged tighten the body bolts infront of the fire wall or put shims under the body mount under the door jam. Do just the opposite if it looks too high in the opening. You will need to do this on both sides then go back and do it again. It don't take much to move the rear portion of the door up and down so go at it gently.

If the door looks like it is too long but fits square in the opening the hinges will need to be bent. Again go slowly as both the top and bottom will need the same tweek.