Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-09-2023, 02:58 PM   #1
mcoomey

Default Front brake actuating lever sleeve not seating properly in kingpin

I took the front brake apart for service and adjustment. While apart I decided to paint some pieces to pretty it up a bit. I masked off the end of the brake actuating lever and when I put it back together it became obvious that it is not seating properly in the kingpin. I think it must have been this way when I started since I don't see any adjustment that I could have inadvertently changed. Also, I don't notice any play in the kingpin.

Does anyone have any idea how to correct this -- or is it even necessary? The brake is working, but the action on the lever is not very smooth. I'm new to working on Model A's, so I'm not too sure how the lever action is supposed to feel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Model_a_brake_act_arm.jpg (89.0 KB, 159 views)

Last edited by mcoomey; 11-09-2023 at 03:30 PM.
mcoomey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2023, 04:41 PM   #2
rotorwrench

Default Re: Front brake actuating lever sleeve not seating properly in kingpin

I've seen where folks put a pill into the upper actuator socket in order to make up for worn push rods or lower wedge roller tracks. Make sure that the socket is empty and that all the actuator components are in good functional condition. Folks were suposed to limit the amount of pills on the bottom but they didn't always follow the recommendations. Some likely have more than they should.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2023, 06:05 PM   #3
mcoomey

Thanks for the reply @rotorwrench. I replaced the wedge and push rod as part of my brake servicing and added just one pill to the wedge to achieve 15° on the actuator lever.